Title IX & BU Policies

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 is a federal civil rights law that prohibits sex-based discrimination in federally funded education programs and activities. Sex-based discrimination includes sexual harassment and sexual violence, such as rape, sexual assault, sexual battery, and sexual coercion. The law covers sex-based discrimination against students, faculty, and staff.

Boston University Title IX Team
2016-2017

To ensure compliance with Title IX, Boston University has appointed a University Title IX Coordinator as well as deputy coordinators for key offices and within all schools.

University Title IX Coordinator

Kim Randall, Executive Director of Equal Opportunity
krandall@bu.edu | 617-353-9286

Office of the Provost

  • Suzanne Kennedy, Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs
    skennedy@bu.edu / (617) 353-8686

Student Affairs

  • Katherine Kennedy, Director, Howard Thurman Center
    kkennedy@bu.edu / (617) 353-4745
  • Abby Myette, Associate Director, Student Activities
    almyette@bu.edu / (617) 353-3635
  • Stacy Harris, Assistant Director, Disability Services
    harriss@bu.edu / (617) 353-3658
  • Katherine Cornetta, Assistant to the Dean, Dean of Students Office
    katcorn@bu.edu / (617) 353-4126
  • Christina Loring, Associate Director, Parent Program
    colson@bu.edu / (617) 358-1187

Residence Life

  • Corinna Cusson, Assistant Director of Residence Life for Warren Towers
    ccusson@bu.edu / (617) 353-3932
  • Victor Diaz, Area Director, South Campus Residences
    vdiaz@bu.edu / (617) 353-2102
  • Geraldine (Gerry) Falcon, Fiscal & Operations Administrator
    gfalcon@bu.edu / (617) 353-4380
  • Paul Hughes, Assistant Director of Residence Life for Upper Bay State Road
    hughesp@bu.edu / (617) 358-3100
  • Yvette Lancaster, Assistant Director of Residence Life for Lower Bay State Road
    ylancast@bu.edu / (617) 353-3834
  • Hilary Caron, Assistant Director of Residence Life for West Campus
    hcaron@bu.edu / (617) 353-3902
  • Meg White, Assistant Director of Residence Life for Upper Commonwealth Avenue
    meggiew@bu.edu / (617) 358-5800

Athletics

  • Jennifer Chadburn, Head Athletic Trainer
    jlchad@bu.edu / (617) 353-2746
  • Bethany Ellis, Associate Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Development
    Bjellis1@bu.edu / (617) 353-4683

Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM)

  • Karen Symes, Ph.D., Assistant Dean of Student Affairs (MED)
    symes@bu.edu / (Mon, Tues, Thurs): 617-638-4077; (Wed, Fri): 617-638-4196
  • Gwyneth Offner, Director, M.A. Medical Sciences Program (GMS)
    goffner@bu.edu / (617) 638-8221

Goldman School of Dental Medicine (GSDM)

  • Dr. Joseph Calabrese, Assistant Dean of Students
    jobean@bu.edu / (617) 638-4637

School of Public Health (SPH)

  • Susan Foster, Assistant Dean for Administration
    shfoster@bu.edu / (617) 638-4637

College of Arts & Sciences (CAS)

  • Kerry Buglio, Director, CAS Academic Services (Undergraduates)
    kbuglio@bu.edu / (617) 353-2400
  • Laura Wipf, Director of Faculty Actions (Faculty/Staff)
    lwipf@bu.edu / (617) 353-2404
  • Susan Kahn, Assistant Director of Graduate Affairs (Graduate Students)
    smkahn@bu.edu / (617) 353-2696

College of Fine Arts (CFA)

  • Patricia Mitro, Sr. Assistant Dean for Enrollment
    pmitro@bu.edu / (617) 353-3350

College of General Studies (CGS)

  • Stacy Godnick, Associate Dean for Student Academic Life
    sgodnick@bu.edu / (617) 353-2850
  • Ilda Hanxari, Academic Advisor
    ildahanx@bu.edu / (617) 358-0296

College of Communication (COM)

  • Justin Joseph, Public Relations, Associate Professor of the Practice
    justinj@bu.edu / (617) 353-3482

College of Engineering (ENG)

  • Ruth L. Jean, Director, Undergraduate Programs
    ruthiej@bu.edu / (617) 353-6447

Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies

  • Allison Patenaude, Undergraduate Programs Administrator
    algoods@bu.edu / (617) 353-6342

Kilachand Honors College

  • Amanda Scobie, Assistant Director of Student Services
    ajscobie@bu.edu / (617) 358-6183

School of Law (LAW)

  • Elizabeth Cerrato, Assistant Dean for Administration
    cerrato@bu.edu / (617) 353-3112

Sargent College of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences (SAR)

  • Deborah Claar, Coordinator, Undergraduate Programs
    dsclaar@bu.edu / (617) 353-7475
  • Molly McCarthy, Personnel Administrator
    mollym@bu.edu / (617) 353-4202
  • Heather Nicholson, Academic Advisor
    nichol@bu.edu / (617) 353-7478

School of Education (SED)

  • Laura Johnson, Associate Dean for Student Affairs
    lauraj@bu.edu / (617) 353-4665
  • Caysie Carter, Director of Student Services
    caysiec@bu.edu / (617) 353-3177

School of Hospitality Administration (SHA)

  • Abby Raspallo, Director, Student Services
    araspall@bu.edu / (617) 353-3261

Questrom School of Business

  • Rachel Reiser, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Programs
    rreiser@bu.edu / (617) 353-9720

School of Social Work (SSW)

  • Cate Solomon, Director of Student Services
    csolomon@bu.edu / (617) 353-5607

School of Theology (STH)

  • Pamela Lightsey, Associate Dean for Community Life and Lifelong Learning
    ronnice@bu.edu / (617) 353-3050

Global Programs

  • Mary Ogburn, Academic and Student Support Manager, Study Abroad, ogburn@bu.edu, (617) 358-6350
  • Roberta Turri Vise, Managing Director of Operations, Global Programs
    rturri@bu.edu / (617) 353-2963
  • Debbie Miller, Associate Director, Study Abroad, millerda@bu.edu, (617) 353-9888

Enrollment Services

  • Denise Mooney, Associate Vice President, Enrollment & Student Affairs
    dmooney@bu.edu / (617) 353-9814
  • David Backus, Director, Finance and HR Administration
    dbackus@bu.edu / (617) 353-5318

Human Resources

  • Carolyn Brownawell, Executive Director of HR (CRC)
    cbrowna@bu.edu / (617) 353-4720
  • Patricia Barry Sheehan, Director of Human Resources (BUMC)
    psheehan@bu.edu / (617) 638-4610

Military Education (ROTC)

  • Major Chad P. Corrigan, Professor and Department Chair, Army ROTC
    ccorriga@bu.edu / (617) 353-4025

Marsh Chapel

  • Kaitlin Noe, Staff Coordinator and Director of Hospitality
    knoe@bu.edu / (617) 353-3560

Metropolitan College

  • Julie Prendergast, HR Manager
    jprend@bu.edu / (617) 358-3166
  • BU’s Responsibilities Under Title IX

    Title IX requires universities to respond promptly and effectively to complaints of all kinds of sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment and sexual violence. Universities must take immediate action to eliminate the offending conduct, prevent its recurrence, and address its effects. BU is committed to promptly investigating the circumstances of a complaint to determine what occurred, ensure complainant safety, and provide remedies. Regardless of whether a complainant files a criminal action, BU will undertake its own investigation of the circumstances of the complaint.

    Policies

    Boston University has several policies that address sexual misconduct:

    • Sexual Misconduct/Title IX Policy: This policy defines key terms, gives examples of covered conduct, discusses confidentiality, and provides guidance on reporting sexual misconduct throughout the University.
    • Workplace Violence Prevention Policy: Prohibits violent behavior, physical attacks, verbal or physical threats of violence, physical intimidation, and stalking and property damage, and describes procedures for reporting such situations.
    • Policy on Consensual Relationships with Students: Applies to relationships between students and the faculty, staff, or other affiliates who supervise students.

    Disciplinary Procedures

    Effective January 2015, the University has disciplinary procedures outlined for students, faculty and staff.

    Persons seeking to file a complaint should contact:

    In cases involving rape, acquaintance rape, sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, or stalking, several additional provisions apply, including:

    • The accuser and the accused are entitled to the same opportunities to have others present during a University disciplinary proceeding.
    • Both the accuser and the accused shall be informed of the outcome of any University disciplinary proceeding alleging a sexual assault.
    • Boston University will assist student victims who need to make changes in their academic schedules or living arrangements, provided these changes are reasonable.