Title IX & BU Policies

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 is a federal civil rights law that prohibits sex-based discrimination in federally funded education programs and activities. Sex-based discrimination includes sexual harassment and sexual violence, such as rape, sexual assault, sexual battery, and sexual coercion. The law covers sex-based discrimination against students, faculty, and staff.

Boston University Title IX Team
2014-2015

To ensure compliance with Title IX, Boston University has appointed a University Title IX Coordinator as well as deputy coordinators for key offices and within all schools.

University Title IX Coordinator

Kim Randall, Executive Director of Equal Opportunity
krandall@bu.edu 617-353-9286

View all Deputy Title IX Coordinators by Office/School

Office of the Provost

  • Suzanne Kennedy, Assistant provost for Academic Affairs
    skennedy@bu.edu / (617) 353-8686

Student Affairs

  • Dale Robbins, Assistant Dean of Students & Director of Judicial Affairs drob@bu.edu / (617) 358-0700
  • Katherine Kennedy, Director, Howard Thurman Center kkennedy@bu.edu / (617) 353-4745
  • Abby Myette, Associate Director, Student Activities almyette@bu.edu / (617) 353-3635
  • Stacy Harris, Assistant Director, Disability Services harriss@bu.edu / (617) 353-3658
  • Katherine Cornetta, Assistant to the Dean, Dean of Students Office katcorn@bu.edu / (617) 353-4126

Residence Life

  • Shawna Altenburger, Assistant Director, South Campus
    saltenbu@bu.edu / (617) 353-2102
  • Corinna Cusson, Assistant Director, Warren Towers
    ccusson@bu.edu / (617) 353-3932
  • Geraldine Falcon, Administrator, Fiscal and Operations
    gfalcon@bu.edu / (617) 353-4380
  • Paul Hughes, Assistant Director, The Towers
    hughesp@bu.edu / (617) 358-3100
  • Yvette Lancaster, Assistant Director, Myles Standish Hall
    ylancast@bu.edu / (617) 353-3834
  • Meg White, Assistant Director, 10 Buick St.
    meggiew@bu.edu / (617) 358-5800

Athletics

  • Jennifer Chadburn, Head Athletic Trainer jlchad@bu.edu / (617) 353-2746
  • Bethany Ellis, Associate Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Development bellis@bu.edu / (617) 353-4683

Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM)

  • Paige Curran, Director of Academic Enhancement (MED) pkcurran@bu.edu / (617) 638-5148
  • Gwyneth Offner, Director, M.A. Medical Sciences Program (GMS) goffner@bu.edu / (617) 638-8221

Goldman School of Dental Medicine (GSDM)

  • Dr. Joseph Calabrese, Assistant Dean of Students jobean@bu.edu / (617) 638-4637

School of Public Health (SPH)

  • Suzette Levenson, Assistant Dean for Admission & Finance sml@bu.edu / (617) 638-5014

College of Arts & Sciences (CAS)

  • Kerry Buglio, Director, CAS Academic Services (Undergraduates) kbuglio@bu.edu / (617) 353-2400
  • Laura Wipf, Graduate Services Administrator (Graduate students) lwipf@bu.edu / (617) 353-2696
  • Alexandra (Sasha) Adams, Director, Faculty Actions (Faculty/Staff) azadams@bu.edu / (617) 353-2404

College of Fine Arts (CFA)

  • Patricia Mitro, Sr. Assistant Dean for Enrollment pmitro@bu.edu / (617) 353-3350

College of General Studies (CGS)

  • Stacy Godnick, Associate Dean for Student Academic Life sgodnick@bu.edu / (617) 353-2850

College of Communication (COM)

  • Elizabeth Mehren, Journalism Professor emehren@bu.edu / (617) 358-5806

College of Engineering (ENG)

  • Ruth L. Jean, Director, Undergraduate Programs ruthiej@bu.edu / (617) 353-6447

School of Law (LAW)

  • Elizabeth Cerrato, Assistant Dean for Administration cerrato@bu.edu / (617) 353-3112

Metropolitan College (MET)

  • David Hatch, Manager, MET HR dshatch@bu.edu / (617) 358-3166

Sargent College of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences (SAR)

  • Molly McCarthy, Personnel Administrator mollym@bu.edu / (617) 353-4202

School of Education (SED)

    School of Hospitality Administration (SHA)

    • Abby Raspallo, Director, Student Services araspall@bu.edu / (617) 353-3261

    School of Management (SMG)

    • Rachel Reiser, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Programs rreiser@bu.edu / (617) 353-9720

    School of Social Work (SSW)

    • Dawn Beltran Martinez, M.S.W
      dawnbm@bu.edu / (617) 353-3575

    School of Theology (STH)

    • Pamela Lightsey, Associate Dean for Community Life and Lifelong Learning
      ronnice@bu.edu / (617) 353-3050

    Global Programs

    • Carl Kelley, Assistant Director, Administration and Finance/CELOP
      ckelley@bu.edu / (617) 353-9760
    • Debbie Miller, Associate Director, Enrollment, Study Abroad
      millerda@bu.edu / (617) 353-9888
    • Roberta Turri Vise, Managing Director of Operations, Global Programs
      rturri@bu.edu / (617) 353-2963

    Enrollment Services

    • Denise Mooney, Associate Vice President, Enrollment & Student Affairs
      dmooney@bu.edu / (617) 353-9814
    • David Backus, Director, Finance and HR Administration
      dbackus@bu.edu / (617) 353-5318

    Human Resources

    • Carolyn Brownawell, Executive Director of HR (CRC)
      cbrowna@bu.edu / (617) 353-4720
    • Boris Lazic, Director of HR (BUMC)
      blazic@bu.edu / (617) 638-4610

    Department of Military Services

    • Master Sergeant Dan Pena, Army ROTC
      depenaa@bu.edu / (617) 353-4025
    • Air Force ROTC – VACANT

    Development & Alumni Relations

    • Christina Loring, Associate Director, Annual Giving
      colson@bu.edu / (617) 358-1187

    BU’s Responsibilities Under Title IX

    Title IX requires universities to respond promptly and effectively to complaints of all kinds of sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment and sexual violence. Universities must take immediate action to eliminate the offending conduct, prevent its recurrence, and address its effects. BU is committed to promptly investigating the circumstances of a complaint to determine what occurred, ensure complainant safety, and provide remedies. Regardless of whether a complainant files a criminal action, BU will undertake its own investigation of the circumstances of the complaint.

    Policies

    Boston University has several policies that address sexual misconduct:

    Disciplinary Procedures

    If the offender is a student, the University may impose disciplinary sanctions. Persons seeking to file a complaint should contact:

    In cases involving rape, acquaintance rape, sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, or stalking, several additional provisions apply, including:

    • The accuser and the accused are entitled to the same opportunities to have others present during a University disciplinary proceeding.
    • Both the accuser and the accused shall be informed of the outcome of any University disciplinary proceeding alleging a sexual assault.
    • Boston University will assist student victims who need to make changes in their academic schedules or living arrangements, provided these changes are reasonable.

    University Sanctions

    The University sanctions that may be imposed following the final determination of a University disciplinary procedure include suspension and expulsion from the residence system and/or the University for students, and up to and including termination for employees.

    Massachusetts Law

    Relationship Violence
    Under Mass. G. L. ch. 209A, a person suffering abuse from a family or household member may seek a restraining order. Abuse includes attempting to cause or causing physical harm; placing another in fear of imminent serious physical harm; or causing another to engage involuntarily in sexual relations by force, threat, or duress. The term “family or household members” includes individuals who “are or have been in a substantive dating or engagement relationship” as determined by the Court. The Boston University Police Department (617-353-2121) can assist members of the University community who seek a restraining order or other protection offered through the Massachusetts Courts.

    Assault and battery are crimes under Massachusetts law. Mass. G. L. ch. 265, Section 13A. An individual convicted of a second or subsequent incident of assault on a family or household member (as defined in Section 209A, above) may be subject to greater sanctions, including up to five years in state prison. Mass. G. L. ch. 251, Section 13M.

    Stalking
    Under Massachusetts law, a person who (1) willfully and maliciously engages in a knowing pattern of conduct or series of acts over a period of time directed at a specific person which seriously alarms or annoys that person and would cause a reasonable person to suffer substantial emotional distress, and (2) makes a threat with the intent to place the person in imminent fear of death or bodily injury, shall be guilty of the crime of stalking. Mass. G. L. ch. 265, Section 43. The conduct may include threats made by electronic communications such as email, text messages and the like. Stalking may be punished by up to five years in state prison. A person who commits the crime of stalking in violation of an order issued pursuant to Mass. G. L. ch. 209A (among others) shall serve a mandatory minimum of one year in a house of corrections or state prison. A person convicted of a second incident of stalking shall serve a mandatory minimum of two years in a house of corrections or state prison.

    Criminal Harassment
    Under Massachusetts law, a person who willfully and maliciously engages in a knowing pattern of conduct or series of acts over a period of time directed at a specific person, which seriously alarms that person and would cause a reasonable person to suffer substantial emotional distress, shall be guilty of the crime of criminal harassment. Mass. G. L. ch. 265, Section 43A. The conduct may include communications by electronic means, including email, text messages and the like. Criminal harassment may be punished by up to 2½ years in a house of corrections. A person convicted of a second incident of criminal harassment may be punished by serving up to 10 years in state prison.