BUSTH announces 2024 Student Leadership Awards

On Thursday, May 9, the BUSTH community gathered to celebrate the graduating class of 2024 and to announce the Student Leadership Awards. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Bryan Stone, and Interim Associate Dean for Students and Community Life Nicolette Manglos-Weber awarded 15 outstanding students certificates reflecting their extraordinary contributions to the School and their fellow students.

Award Title



Belonging & Justice Awarded to an outstanding student who has made significant contributions to fulfilling the School of Theology’s stated commitment to being a place that celebrates cultural diversity, creates an inclusive environment for all members of the STH community, and/or furthers racial justice, gender justice, disability justice, and/or justice for other minoritized communities at the School of Theology Claudia Alvarez Hurtado
Chaplaincy Leadership Awarded to a graduating student who has exhibited outstanding promise in the work of chaplaincy Patrice Rose,
Ben Harney
Community Life and Fellowship Community life awards are given to students across residential master’s programs, the PhD program, and online and hybrid programs at STH. Awardees will be graduating students who model leadership within the social and/or academic life of the STH community Madison Chau,
Rebekah Neuberger,
Emily Padgett,
Barbara Welling Hall
Interfaith Leadership Awarded to an outstanding student who has exercised transformative leadership toward making the School of Theology a place where people across religious traditions are included and their gifts nurtured Seigen Johnson
International Student Leadership Awarded to an international student who has exercised leadership in building community among international students and/or between international and domestic students Philip Kirui
Justice, Advocacy, and Community Engagement Beyond BU Awarded to a student who has provided outstanding service to and leadership in the work of social justice in the communities of Boston, New England, and/or globally Shea Thompson
Methodist/Wesleyan Spirituality Awarded to a graduating student from a Wesleyan tradition who has embodied the spirit of Wesleyan spirituality at the School of Theology and/or is a promising leader in the broader Wesleyan fellowship of churches Eric Falley,
Adam McAllister
Doctor of Ministry Leadership Awarded to a graduating DMin student who has provided leadership in cultivating community among DMin students and modeled the transformative leadership that is the signature of STH’s DMin program Mary Brown,
Dana Gonsal
Pastoral Leadership Awarded to a graduating student who has demonstrated extraordinary promise in the work of pastoral care Amber Jogie