Bill Braudis and Garland Waller received this year’s top awards presented by the College of Communication to its faculty, honoring their work in instruction and advising, respectively.

“Teaching and mentoring are critical roles for COM’s wonderful faculty, as recognized by these awards,” said Dean Mariette DiChristina (COM ’86). “I’m delighted to see Bill Braudis and Garland Waller get these well-deserved honors recognizing their passion, creativity, and dedication to our college’s students.”

Braudis, assistant professor of film and television, is the recipient of this year’s Becker Family Teacher-of-the-Year Award, considered the highest honor presented by COM to its professors.

The award was established in memory of David Brudnoy, a legend in Boston broadcasting and a professor at COM.

Recent Teacher-of-the-Year Award recipients include Mina Tsay-Vogel, associate professor of communication, in 2019 and, posthumously, John Klarfeld, associate professor of journalism, in 2018.

Waller, assistant professor of television and the director of the television graduate program, is the recipient of this year’s Lyndon Baines Johnson Student Advising Award, nominated by COM students for excellence in student advising.

This award is made possible through a fund established at the College of Communication by Luci Baines Johnson, a friend and Trustee Emeriti of Boston University, in honor of Johnson’s father, President Lyndon Baines Johnson.

Recent Advising Award recipients include Tobe Berkowitz, associate professor of advertising, in 2019 and Amy Shanler, associate professor of the practice of public relations, in 2018.

View all posts

Post Your Comment