BUSTH announces 2023 Student Leadership Awards

On Wednesday, May 3, the BUSTH community gathered for the final Wednesday Community Day of the academic year. During community lunch, Dean G. Sujin Pak, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Bryan Stone, and Associate Dean for Students and Community Life Cristian De La Rosa awarded 11 outstanding students certificates reflecting their extraordinary contributions to the School and their fellow students.

We are so very proud of this incredibly gifted and visionary set of student leaders!” says Dean Pak. “They have made a huge positive impact on STH during their time here, and we have every hope and expectation that they will go forth to be a blessing to others as they have been to so many here.”

Award Title



Belonging & Justice Awarded to an outstanding student who has made significant contributions to fulfilling the School of Theology’s stated commitment to being a place that celebrates cultural diversity, creates an inclusive environment for all members of the STH community, and/or furthers racial justice, gender justice, disability justice, and/or justice for other minoritized communities at the STH Yewon Park
Chaplaincy Leadership Awarded to a graduating student who has exhibited outstanding promise in the work of chaplaincy Rumni Saha
Community Life and Fellowship Community life awards are given to students across residential master’s programs, the PhD program, and online and hybrid programs at STH. Awardees will be graduating students who model leadership within the social and/or academic life of the STH community Cynthia Perry, Gabriella Makuc, Megan Strouse, Stacey Yuen
Interfaith Leadership Awarded to an outstanding student who has exercised transformative leadership toward making the School of Theology a place where people across religious traditions are included and their gifts nurtured Daniel Carman
International Student Leadership Awarded to an international student who has exercised leadership in building community among international students and/or between international and domestic students Ebiye Seimode
Justice, Advocacy, and Community Engagement Beyond BU Awarded to a student who has provided outstanding service to and leadership in the work of social justice in the communities of Boston, New England, and/or globally Valentine Kalende Nankanja
Methodist/Wesleyan Spirituality Awarded to a graduating student from a Wesleyan tradition who has embodied the spirit of Wesleyan spirituality at the School of Theology and/or is a promising leader in the broader Wesleyan fellowship of churches Abby Lietz
Pastoral Leadership Awarded to a graduating student who has demonstrated extraordinary promise in the work of pastoral care Nataly Romero
BUSTH deans with 2023 student leadership award winners
The School of Theology deans pose with the 2023 Student Leadership Awardees. Back row, left to right: Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Bryan Stone, Daniel Carman, Gabriella Makuc, Nataly Romero, Associate Dean for Students and Community Life Cristian De La Rosa, Abby Lietz. Front row, left to right: Ebiye Seimode, Yewon Park, Megan Strouse, Cynthia Perry, Rumni Saha, Dean G. Sujin Pak.