The contest was started in the spring of 2005, and has been held annually since then.  Judging procedures were established that stated that every year a Portfolio Review Jury is to be designated consisting minimally of the Chair of the Ebner Fund Committee, a member of the design faculty, a senior engineering student, an engineering alumna or alumnus and the Mechanical Engineering Department Chair or his or her designee.  The jury decides on the three contest winners.