AWER Summit: Empowering Afghan Women’s Economic Resilience

U.S. Secretary of State Anthony Blinken announces the Alliance for Afghan Women’s Economic Resilience on September 20, 2022, at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. (Source: U.S. Department of State YouTube)

The Alliance for Afghan Women’s Economic Resilience (AWER) Summit, an initiative of the U.S. Department of State and Boston University Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies, is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, February 27, 2024, from 9:30 am to 12:30 pm EST at the U.S. Department of State in Washington, DC.

The summit will convene stakeholders from the private sector, civil society, academia, and governments to discuss strategies for investing in, empowering, and educating Afghan women and girls. AWER, established by U.S. Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken in 2022, aims to foster innovative collaborations to support Afghan women and girls’ access to education, employment, and entrepreneurship.

BU attendees include Rachel Brulé, Assistant Professor at BU’s Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies, who leads BU’s representation to the Alliance for Afghan Women’s Economic Resilience; Scott Taylor, Dean of the Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies; and Dr. Kenneth Lutchen, BU’s interim Provost, highlighting the university’s high-level engagement with the initiative. The event will feature distinguished speakers, including Antony Blinken, U.S. Secretary of State; Rina Amiri, U.S. Special Envoy for Afghan Women, Girls, and Human Rights; and other leaders in the field.

The summit will consist of panel discussions focusing on various aspects of supporting Afghan women and girls, including education, employment, entrepreneurship, and holistic support systems. Participants will explore innovative partnerships and initiatives aimed at empowering Afghan women despite challenges posed by discriminatory policies.

A livestream of the event will be available. More details and registration can be accessed here.

Pardee School students Diana Reno, Emma Liu, Shana Weitzen, Arianna Ayaz, Roamah Baray, Pragya Raj Singh, and Keya Bharel Waikar are also recognized for their continued work alongside Professor Rachel Brulé in support of the AWER mission.