Board Members

2020-2021 Board Members

Dr. Carole R. Bohn


Dr. Kathe Pfisterer Darrkathe-4-22-09-001

She was the 1989 winner of Boston University’s prestigious Metcalf Award for Excellence in Teaching, has authored three books, essays and articles for essay collections and major scholarly journals, respectively, and educational materials for the United Methodist Publishing House. To date, her writings have focused especially on the books of Isaiah and Ezekiel. Her current research/writing project is a study of proverbs appearing in ancient Israel’s prophetic corpus. Professor Darr served on the Editorial Board for the New Interpreter’s Bible commentary series (Abingdon Press) and authored the commentary on Ezekiel for that series. She enjoys bringing biblical scholarship not only to her students, but also to pastors and their congregations.

Rev. Dr. Cristian De la Rosa

The Rev. Dr. Cristian De La Rosa received her PhD in Theology and Ethics from Chicago Theological Seminary where her dissertation focused on contextual dynamics of power and agency. Her areas of interest and scholarship include Mujerista Theology, cultural theory, Latin American Liberation Theology, and the Hispanic/Latino community and its religious history. She is invested in social justice making, religious leadership formation, and bridge building between the academy, the church and diverse communities.

Rev. Nizzi Digan


Bishop LaTrelle Easterling

Bishop LaTrelle Easterling is the episcopal servant and leader of the Baltimore-Washington Conference, the oldest and most diverse annual conference in The United Methodist Church. She is the first woman to lead this historic conference. Bishop Easterling was appointed to this office in September 2016, following her election to the episcopacy that July. She was ordained a Deacon in 1995 and an Elder in 1997, and was pastor of Union UMC in Boston’s historic South End, Pearl Street UMC in Brockton, Mass., and Old West Church, UM, in Boston. A strong proponent of education, Easterling received a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University and a Law degree from Indiana University School of Law. She graduated summa cum laude in 2004 with a Master of Divinity from Boston University School of Theology. Easterling has received numerous awards and recognitions, most recently receiving the 2017 Rainbow Push Trombone Award for Faith in Action, presented by the Rev. Jesse Jackson.

Bishop Susan Hassinger


The Northeastern Jurisdictional Conference elected Bishop Hassinger to the episcopacy in July 1996, and from 1996 until 2004 she served as the episcopal leader of the Boston Area. Since retiring in 2004, she has been bishop-in-residence and adjunct faculty at Boston University School of Theology, Boston, Massachusetts. Bishop Hassinger has also served as a director for the General Board of Global Ministries (1980-1988), the General Board of Discipleship (1992-1996 and 2000-2004) and Liaison between Council of Bishops of the United Methodist Church and the 13 United Methodist schools of theology in the United States (September 2005 to present). She served as president of JUSTPEACE (2000-2004) and vice-chairperson of Anna Howard Shaw Center Board, Boston University School of Theology (2005-present).

Rev. Dr. Aida Irizarry-Fernandezaida_irizarry_fernandez

She was ordained as an elder in the Southern New England Conference in 1991, and was previously the Associate Council Director in the Northern New Jersey Conference.Rev. Irizarry received her Doctor of Ministry degree from New York Theological Seminary in 1997, and her Master of Social Work and Master of Divinity from the School of Social Work and the School of Theology, Boston University in 1989. Her previous experience includes pastoral ministry in New York and Massachusetts, as well as her work as a clinical social worker and psychotherapist. In addition, Rev. Irizarry served as a consultant to the National Hispanic Plan since 1997. She is called upon frequently as guest preacher, guest speaker, workshop facilitator, and Bible study leader.

Ms. Hazel Monae JohnsonHazel Monae

Hazel is an extroverted introvert who enjoys seeing the world through travel, eating spicy food and laughing heartily. Hazel grew up in California and Nevada. She received her Bachelor of Arts from Willamette University in 2011 and her Master of Divinity from Boston University School of Theology in 2019. During her M.Div., Hazel completed a Religion and Conflict Transformation Certificate program, created an Ethical Leadership Development Curriculum for emerging leaders, served two terms as the President of the Student Association, supported the Anna Howard Center, and was inducted into the Boston University School of Theology Student Leadership Society. Hazel lives, works, and creates leadership development curriculum at the intersections of anti-racism/racial equity, ethical leadership development and theology. She currently serves as the Senior Manager of Engagement and Leadership Development at the Episcopal City Mission in Boston, MA.

Ms. Meghan Mantler


Ms. Kaci Norman-Pace


Rev. Dr. HiRho Parkdr-parks-1-of-4

Director of Continuing Formation for Ministry in The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of The United Methodist Church. Park oversees the continuing education and spiritual formation for clergy and provides support for United Methodist clergywomen, as well as racial and ethnic clergy in areas of theological education, enlistment, and research. She coordinates the Women of Color Scholarship Mentoring program and the Georgia Harkness Scholarship program. She relates to Boards of Ordained Ministry, clergywomen, racial and ethnic clergy, annual conferences, and seminaries. Park is an elder of the Baltimore-Washington Conference. She holds D. Min. from Wesley Theological Seminary and is ABD in Practical Theology, Boston University School of Theology.

Rev. Lourey Savick


Rev. Dr. Laurel Scott


Ms. Margaret Wiborg