BU ECE Honor Society

group photo of 2017 ECE Honor Society
ECE students honored at the 2017 IEEE HKN Induction Award Ceremony on April 13, 2017.

By Amy Pollard (GRS ’19)

The Boston University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) announces the reinstatement of the Kappa Sigma chapter of international honor society IEEE-HKN. Kappa Sigma demonstrates ECE students’ high level of achievement and affirms ECE’s commitment to student success.

ECE gains access to a large network of industry leaders and potential employers for students through this chapter, which is advised by Professor Min-Chang Lee. IEEE-HKN has 250 chapters with approximately 100,000 members worldwide and offers educational resources and opportunities that can enhance the ECE department’s visibility, including an annual Student Leadership Conference. This year’s conference was held at Purdue University and was sponsored by General Motors, Northrop Grumman, Orbital ATK and EPICS in IEEE.

Kappa Sigma offers student members a wide range of professional opportunities. In addition to the Student Leadership Conference, student members gain access to seminars by established engineers and scientists, networking socials and prestigious scholarships and awards. They are awarded certificates of membership and a free two-year subscription to IEEE-HKN’s The Bridge digital magazine.

The BU ECE honor society was launched in 2001 by Professor Lee as BU HKN. The reinstatement of the society in 2016 was again initiated by Professor Lee and entitled Kappa Sigma. This year, 24 ECE students were inducted. The students were selected based on academic achievement.

Congratulations to the 2017 IEEE-HKN inductees!

David Barton (EE), Artem Bidnichenko (EE), Alex Bleda (EE), Nicholas Boukis (CE), Zachary Chapasko (CE), Jacob Dansey (CE), Michael Ethier (EE), Tess Gauthier (EE), Makenna Hart (EE), Cole Johnson (CE), Caroline Jones (CE), Kevin Kasper (EE), Joshua Klein (CE), Zachary Lasiuk (EE), Katie Lewis, Cryil Saade (CE), Panagis Samolis (EE), Gregory Starr (EE), Anna Stuhlmacher (EE), Athanasios Tsiligkaridis (EE), Inna Turshudzhyan (CE), Ami Vyas (EE), Ethan Wayda (CE), & Zhechen Xu (EE).