2023 University Lecture – Call for Nominations

From Dr. Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2023 University Lecturer.

The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research and creative pursuits. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics, yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community. Nomination forms for the University Lecturer should be submitted by April 10, 2023, via email to provost@bu.edu.

Information about the lectureship, a list of past lecturers, and a downloadable 2023 nomination form can be found on the Provost’s Office website.

The selection process for the lecture is designed to seek the input of a broad cross-section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination of candidates who reflect BU’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. The membership of the 2023 University Lecture Committee charged with assisting with the selection is listed below.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research, scholarly, and creative efforts of Boston University’s talented faculty.

2023 University Lecture Committee

Josephine Halvorson, Professor of Art, Painting; Chair of Graduate Studies in Painting, College of Fine Arts

Aziza Ahmed, Professor of Law; R. Gordon Butler Scholar in International Law, School of Law

David Atkinson, Professor of Physiology & Biophysics, Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine

Paul Barbone, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering

Shahla Haeri, Professor of Anthropology, College of Arts & Sciences

V. Scott Solberg, Professor of Counseling Psychology, Wheelock College of Education & Human Development

2023 University Lecture – Call for Nominations – 3.16.23