When students register your course, BU automatically add students to your Blackboard Learn course site. However, you can also manually add additional users to your course through the Control Panel. To manually enroll a user:

  1. Log in to learn.bu.edu using your BU login name and Kerberos password
  2. Enter your course using the My Courses widget.
  3. Expand the Users and Groups menu under Control Panel.
    add-user-1
  4. Select Users.
  5. Click the Find Users To Enroll button on the right-hand side of the screen.
    add-user-2
  6. On the resulting page, if you know his/her BU login name, enter it in the Username box and then move to step #8 below.
    For adding more than one account at the same time, you can put all the names in the Username text box, separated by commas.
    Adding Bb Learn accounts
  7. If you do not know the individual’s BU login name, click Browse to search the user by  his/her name or email address.
  8. Select an appropriate role of the user from the drop-down menu.
  9. Select Yes for the Enrollment Availability.
  10. Click the Submit button.
  11. To check the new user’s enrollment status or his/her role:
    1. Go back to the Users page.
    2. Search the new user by using his/her username, email address, or  first or last name.

    add-user-4


When students drop your course, their Blackboard accounts will be made Unavailable in your course. Unavailable users cannot access your course or view it in their My Courses list. These users can be removed at your discretion. Deleting a user removes all data associated with their account, including Grades, Assignments, Discussion Posts, as well as any other work they may have completed in your Blackboard course. This action cannot be undone, so take care when removing a user from your Blackboard site. To remove a user from a Blackboard course:

  1. Log in to learn.bu.edu using your BU login name and Kerberos password
  2. Enter your course using the My Courses widget.
  3. Expand the Users and Groups menu under the Control Panel in the left side navigation menu.
    bbremusers05
  4. Select Users.
    bbremuseres6
  5. Select the checkboxes next to the users you’d like to remove from your course
    bbremusers04
  6. Click Remove Users from Course, located at the top or bottom of the user list.
    bbremuser2


Instructors can adjust the role of a user enrolled in a Blackboard Learn course. To change a user’s role:

    1. Log in to learn.bu.edu using your BU login name and Kerberos password
    2. Enter your course using the My Courses widget.
    3. Expand the Users and Groups menu under Control Panel.
      add-user-1
    4. Select Users.
    5. Locate the user whose role you wish to modify and select the drop down menu next to their name.
      changeuser01
    6. Select Change User’s Role in Course from this menu
    7. On the resulting page, select the role you would like to grant the user.changeuser02
    8. Click the green Submit button to save your changes.


When students drop your course, their Blackboard accounts will be made Unavailable within your course. Unavailable users cannot access your course or view it in their My Courses list. Instructors can adjust the availability of users enrolled in their Blackboard Learn courses. To change a user’s availability:

    1. Log in to learn.bu.edu using your BU login name and Kerberos password
    2. Enter your course using the My Courses widget.
    3. Expand the Users and Groups menu under Control Panel.
      add-user-1
    4. Select Users.
    5. Click the Options menu located to the immediate right of the student’s username.
    6. Select Change User’s Availability in Course from this menu.
      Change User's Availability
    7. On the screen that follows, within Option #1 Role and Availability, for the drop-down menu labeled Available (this course only) select either Yes or No.
      Change User's Availability
    8. Click the green Submit button to save your changes.