QC Receives an Award From The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation

Professor of Chemistry Qiang Cui, who is also a Research Fellow at the Hariri Institute, received a 2021 Machine Learning in the Chemical Sciences & Engineering Award from The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation to develop a machine-learning approach for analyzing protein allostery. The project, entitled “Understanding Protein Allostery using Machine Learning and Deep Mutation […]

Professor Rosina Georgiadis Receives BU’s Gitner Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award

Professor Rosina Georgiadis received BU’s 2019 Gerald and Deanne Gitner Family Award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award. The award is given annually to a faculty member “who best exemplifies innovation in teaching by use, development, or adaptation of technology.” For more

Professor Elliott Published in Nature Communications: Enzymatic Discovery Cools a ‘Hot’ Intermediary

Enzymatic Discovery Cools a ‘Hot’ Intermediary In the world around us enzymes perform the wizardry of allowing reactions that should occur, to do so in a timely fashion. Enzymes that transform hydrogen peroxide often generate a highly reactive, ‘hot’ intermediate along the way, which will transform another molecule in a startling feat of chemistry. In […]

BU Chemistry NSF-REU Program Awarded Three-Year Renewal of Funding

BU Chemistry is pleased to announce a three-year renewal of funding for our NSF Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) Program.  This summer program, hosted by the Chemistry Department, provides students from primarily undergraduate institutions with opportunities to work in advanced research laboratories. Of the 33 students who participated in the program over the past three years, […]