Research Awards

Lichtin Award for Excellence in Research: This award was established in honor of Norman Lichtin, a distinguished research scientist and former Chair of the Chemistry Department. The award recognizes students that are distinguished by their exceptional contributions to chemical research in their doctoral studies. The award is a cash prize of $1,000. The 2023/2024 Lichtin Award for Excellence in Research recipient is Leslie Velasco (Reinhard Group).

Sugata Ray Memorial Award for International Students: This award was established by the Ray family in memory of their son, Sugata Ray, a former graduate student in the Chemistry Department, to recognize an international Ph.D. candidate each year who excels in his or her graduate studies. Research, academic performance, teaching, and service contributions to the Department are all considered in selection of the awardee. The award is a cash prize of $1,500. The 2023/2024 Sugata Ray Memorial Award recipient is Lea Toubiana (Doerrer Group).

Feldman Award: The Feldman Fund was established by the Feldman family to memorialize Julius Feldman, who served for many years as Associate Chairman of the Chemistry Department and who took a special interest in the welfare of graduate students. The Feldman Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in research, teaching or service. The award is a cash prize of $1,000. The recipient of the 2023/2024 Feldman Award is Kaijie Ji (Porco Group).

The Laursen Award: The Laursen Endowment was established in 2013 in honor of Professor Emeritus Richard Laursen who retired in June 2009 after 43 years as a member of the Chemistry faculty. At his request, interest from the endowment is being used to provide an annual summer stipend for a deserving undergraduate or graduate student in alternating years. The 2023/2024 Laursen Award recipient is Qishuo Tan (Ling Group).

Feldman Fund Graduate Travel Award: The Feldman Fund provides financial assistance to graduate students to attend scientific meetings in order to present their research work. Students wishing to apply for Feldman travel money should contact the Director of Graduate Studies with details of their research travel proposal or fill out an online application here.

Teaching Awards

Department of Chemistry, Outstanding Teaching Fellow: This award is issued to the academic year’s outstanding Teaching Fellow in recognition of excellence and innovation in teaching. The 2021/2022 Outstanding Teaching Fellow is Melissa Burrows (Bravaya Group).

Graduate School, Outstanding Teaching Fellow: This award, issued at the College level by the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, rewards outstanding teaching achievements.

Please click here to see awardees from past years.