Front Page

News for the front page

Chemistry Professor Scott Schaus (CAS`95) Honors His Mother

Professor Scott Schaus has established the Irene Sophia Prado Endowed Scholarship Fund. The scholarship will provide need-based support to undergraduates pursuing degrees in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM), with preference given to women of Mexican American or Latina backgrounds. See the inspiring story between the formation of the Scholarship Fund here:

Professor Rosina Georgiadis Receives BU’s Gitner Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award

Professor Rosina Georgiadis received BU’s 2019 Gerald and Deanne Gitner Family Award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award. The award is given annually to a faculty member “who best exemplifies innovation in teaching by use, development, or adaptation of technology.” For more

Professor Elliott Published in Nature Communications: Enzymatic Discovery Cools a ‘Hot’ Intermediary

Enzymatic Discovery Cools a ‘Hot’ Intermediary In the world around us enzymes perform the wizardry of allowing reactions that should occur, to do so in a timely fashion. Enzymes that transform hydrogen peroxide often generate a highly reactive, ‘hot’ intermediate along the way, which will transform another molecule in a startling feat of chemistry. In […]

BU Chemistry NSF-REU Program Awarded Three-Year Renewal of Funding

BU Chemistry is pleased to announce a three-year renewal of funding for our NSF Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) Program.  This summer program, hosted by the Chemistry Department, provides students from primarily undergraduate institutions with opportunities to work in advanced research laboratories. Of the 33 students who participated in the program over the past three years, […]

Advances in Organic Electronics Research Symposium

Dear all, I’d like to invite you to join the Jeffries-EL group at the Advances in Organic Electronics Research Symposium on Monday 26th November in SCI 113. The symposium begins at 3 pm with light refreshments in SCI 103, before the first talk at 3.30 pm. We have two brilliant speakers lined up (please see […]

Department of Chemistry 2017-2018 AY Outstanding Student Awards

We were pleased to announce the Department of Chemistry student award winners for the 2017-2018 academic year at the Orientation BBQ. For those who may have missed it, here are the award winners.   Sugata Ray Memorial Award for International Students: Nathchar Naowarojna (Liu Lab) This award was established by the Ray family in memory […]