Optical Wireless Communications Workshop

3rd IEEE Workshop on Optical Wireless Communications (OWC’12)
Co-located with IEEE Globecom 2012, Anaheim CA

Monday, December 3, 2012

In recent years we have seen a growing international interest in research and development in OWC systems. Traditionally, the OWC technology relies on high power solid state lasers or diode lasers for medium to long range applications. Recently we have seen remarkable advances in semiconductor sources such as light emitting diodes (LEDs) in visible light and ultraviolet wavelengths, multi-array light sources and detectors, tracking and steering. These advances provide huge potentials for short/medium range wireless communication applications at a low power and a low cost.

This workshop aims to bring together researchers and practitioners from academia and industry working in emerging visible light communications (VLC) and ultraviolet communications (UVC) as well as the traditional wireless infrared communications (IRC) to present, share and discuss their latest research results.

View the presentation slides from the event.

Jean Armstrong, Monash University
Harald Haas, University of Edinburgh
Thomas Little, Boston University
Mitsuji Matsumoto, Waseda University
Zhengyuan Xu, Tsinghua University

Technical Program Committee:

Jean Armstrong, Monash University, Australia
Shlomi Arnon, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Tarik Borogovac, Boston University, USA
Maite Brandt-Pearce, Univ. of Virginia, USA
Neda Cvijetic, NEC Laboratories America, Inc., USA
Hany Elgala, Boston University, USA
Fary Ghassemlooy, Northumbia University, UK
Roger Green, University of Warwick, UK
Harald Haas, University of Edinburgh, UK
Shinichiro Haruyama, Keio University, Japan
Steve Hranilovic, McMaster University, Canada
Tiffany Jing Li, Lehigh University, USA
Thomas Kamalakis, Univ. of Athens, Greece
Mohsen Kavehrad, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Valencia Joyner Koomson, Tufts University, USA
Klaus-Dieter Langer, Heinrich Hertz Institute,
Fraunhofer, Germany
Erich Leitgeb, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Xin Lin, Nakagawa Laboratories Inc, Japan
Thomas Little, Boston University, USA
Francisco Lopez-Hernandez, Universidad Politecnica, Madrid, Spain
Stefan Mangold, Disney Research, USA
Mitsuji Matsumoto, Waseda University, Japan
Dominic O’Brien, University of Oxford, UK
Brian Sadler, Army Research Laboratory, USA
Murat Uysal, Ozyegin University, Turkey
Joachim. W. Walewski, Siemens, Germany
Zhengyuan Xu, Tsinghua University, China
Takaya Yamazato, Nagoya University, Japan