Press release regarding the Dark Energy Spectroscopic Instrument (DESI) and BU Physics contribution

Professor Jim Rohlf writes: This is to call your attention to a press release from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) today ( regarding the Dark Energy Spectroscopic Instrument (DESI). DESI has just submitted its first papers on cosmology which include several interesting new measurements that help clarify our understanding of the constituents and dynamics of […]

Professor Martin Schmaltz receives Humboldt Research Award

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has just informed our President and our Dean that our colleague, Martin Schmaltz has been selected to receive a Humboldt Research Award. Here is what Birgit Lindner has sent on behalf of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation: *** This award is conferred in recognition of the award winner’s entire academic […]

Sam Fulton awarded the Harold C. Case Scholarship

The Harold C. Case Scholarship is awarded to outstanding Boston University rising seniors.  These scholarships recognize scholarly accomplishment and potential as well as extra-curricular activities which contribute to the University. Sam would like to thank his research advisors Ed Kearns and Alex Sushkov as well his academic advisor Shyam Erramilli for all their help and […]