The Department of Computer Science at Boston University is widely regarded to be among the top computer science programs in the nation, and this is reflected in the quality and commitment of our faculty. The following list represents both national and international awards and recognitions received by our faculty members.

NSF CAREER Awards or Presidential/NSF Young Investigator Awards

NSF CISE Research Initiation Initiative (CRII) Awards

ONR Young Investigator Awards

DOE Computational Science Teaching Awards

NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow or Presidential Early Career (PECASE) Awards

Sloan Research Fellowships

Fulbright Awards

Guggenheim Fellows

Fellows of the ACM

Senior Members of the ACM

Fellows of the IEEE

Senior Members of the IEEE

Fellows of the International Association for Pattern Recognition

Fellows of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Fellows of the International Association for Cryptologic Research

RSA Conference Awards for Excellence in Mathematics

ACM/IEEE Knuth Prize Awards

ACM, IEEE, and USENIX Field Awards

  • Azer Bestavros, 2014 – ACM SIGAPP MEDES Award for Innovation in Digital EcoSystems

ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Awards

ACM, IEEE, and CRA Service Awards

  • Azer Bestavros, 1999 – IEEE CS Society, TCRTS Distinguished Service Award
  • Azer Bestavros, 1998 – ACM, LCTES Distinguished Service Award
  • Abraham Matta, 2011 – IEEE ICCCN 2011 Leadership Award

Members of the National Academies

  • Leonid Levin, 2019 – US National Academy of Sciences
  • Peter Gacs – Hungarian Academy of Science

Research Faculty Fellows

  • Evimaria Terzi – Microsoft Research Faculty Fellow
  • Jonathan Appavoo – IBM Research Faculty Fellow

Industry Awards

  • Manos Athanassoulis, 2020, Facebook Faculty Research Award
  • Azer Bestavros, 1997 – Compaq Brazil R&D Award
  • Margrit Betke, 2017 – Google Research Faculty Award
  • Ran Canetti, 2005 – IBM Corporate Award
  • Mark Crovella, 1997 – Compaq Brazil R&D Award
  • Marco Gaboardi & Kate Saenko, 2020 – Google Faculty Research Award
  • Derry Wijaya, 2013 – Google Anita Borg
  • Derry Wijaya, 2019 – Google exploreCSR

Kolmogorov Medal

Humboldt Prize

Gödel Prize

Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies

  • Marco Gaboardi & Mark Bun, 2019

IETF/IRTF Applied Networking Research Prize

Gerald and Deanne Gitner Family Award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology

Test of Time / Influential Paper Awards

Best Paper Awards

Outstanding Paper Awards

Best Reviewer Awards

Best Presentation Awards

Best Demo Awards

International Awards

  • Azer Bestavros, 2012 – Qatar Foundation Expatriate Scientists Award