Specific approvals must be obtained when sending a Broadcast Message to constituent groups, as outlined below. When requesting an approval please include a “cc” to specmail@bu.edu. The approver can then reply to include specmail@bu.edu and notify the Broadcast team directly.

Target Constituency Requires written approval from
University-wide
Students or faculty Provost (B) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Staff President (A) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Faculty and staff President (A), Provost (B) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Faculty, staff, and students President (A), Provost (B) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Medical Campus-wide
Faculty and/or staff and/or students Associate Dean for Communications (C)
College-wide
Faculty or staff or students in a single college Dean of College
Faculty or students in two or more colleges
Charles River Campus Deans of each targeted college or Charles River Campus Provost (B)
Medical Campus Deans of each targeted college or Associate Dean for Communications (C)
Staff in two or more colleges
Charles River Campus Deans of each targeted college or President (A)
Medical Campus Associate Dean for Communications (C)
Other
Alumni and/or Donors Requests should be submitted to the online form at https://www.bu.edu/alumni/email-request/.  All other approval requests: VP for Development & Alumni Relations (E) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Parents of current BU students VP for Enrollment & Student Affairs (F) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Parents of former BU students VP for Development & Alumni Relations (E) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Prospective BU students or their parents VP for Enrollment & Student Affairs (F) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Approval Contacts
A President’s Office: Douglas A. Sears, dsears@bu.edu, 358-1360, and “cc” specmail@bu.edu. In case Douglas is unavailable, email Jennifer Horgan jhorgan@bu.edu and “cc” specmail@bu.edu.
B Provost’s Office (Charles River Campus): Judith Sandonato, jsandona@bu.edu and “cc” specmail@bu.edu. When a University-wide constituency is involved, also “cc” the Office of Communications (C). In case Judith is unavailable, email Megan Funaro mfunaro@bu.edu and “cc” specmail@bu.edu.
C Communications Office: Maria Pantages Ober, mpober@bu.edu, 358-7869 and “cc” Lisa Brown, brownl@bu.edu, 358-9445 and specmail@bu.edu
D SVP for External Affairs: Stephen Burgay, burgay@bu.edu, 353-1168 and “cc” both Amy Hook, amyhook@bu.edu, 353-2399, and specmail@bu.edu
E Development & Alumni Relations: Kirsten Lundeen, lundeenk@bu.edu, and “cc” both webreq@bu.edu, and
specmail@bu.edu
F Vice President for Enrollment and Student Affairs: Christine McGuire, chmcguir@bu.edu, 353-9814, and “cc” specmail@bu.edu