Peter B. Golbus and Sabrina Neuman launch research program aimed at increasing the number of CS PhD candidates from underrepresented groups

BU Computer Science is proud to be one of five inaugural institutional partners selected by the Computing Research Association to participate in the new UR2PhD National Virtual Computing Research Mentor Program. Peter Golbus and Sabrina Neuman are co-directing program at BU. The goals of the program are to “increase the number of undergraduate research opportunities […]

Mark Crovella receives two Collaborative Research NSF Awards

Congratulations to Mark Crovella and his collaborators on their receipt two NSF Collaborative Research Awards. The projects are: Collaborative Research: NeTS: Medium: Large Scale Analysis of Configurations and Management Practices in the Domain Name System Collaborative Research: IMR: MM-1C: Methods for Active Measurement of the Domain Name System Both projects will be collaborations with Mark, […]

Renato Mancuso receives two of three Outstanding Paper Awards at ECRTS 2023

Renato Mancuso was awarded two of the three available Outstanding Paper Awards at the 35th Euromicro Conference on Real-Time Systems. The awards went to: Memory Latency Distribution-Driven Regulation for Temporal Isolation in MPSoCs (doi) Ahsan Saeed (Robert Bosch GmbH), Denis Hoornaert (Technical University of Munich), Dakshina Dasari (Robert Bosch GmbH), Dirk Ziegenbein (Robert Bosch GmbH), Daniel […]

Vasia Kalavri and Manos Athanassoulis recieve SIGMOD 2023 Distinguished Review Award

Congratulations to Vasia Kalavri and Manos Athanassoulis who recieved SIGMOD 2023 Distinguished Review Award. Read more about the awardees here. The ACM Special Interest Group on Management of Data is concerned with the principles, techniques and applications of database management systems and data management technology. Our members include software developers, academic and industrial researchers, practitioners, […]

Vasia Kalavri receives 2023 SIGMOD Systems Award

Congratulations to Professor Vasia Kalavri who has received the SIGMOD Systems Award 2023 for her contributions to Apache Flink. Read more about the project and collaborators here. The SIGMOD Systems Award is awarded to an individual or set of individuals to recognize the development of a software or hardware system whose technical contributions have had […]

Margrit Betke, Prakash Ishwar, and collaborators awarded 024 Focused Research Program Award

Congratulations to Margrit Betke, Prakash Ishwar, and their collaborators for their program received a 2024 Focused Research Program Award from the Hariri Institute. The Hariri Institute for Computing’s FRP programs support intensive, faculty-driven efforts in large, multi-disciplinary teams. The FRP mission is to evolve and advance Boston University’s research in computing, computational, and data-driven science and engineering […]

Hariri announces Bryan Plummer as Hariri Junior Faculty Fellow.

Congratulations to Bryan Plummer for being selected as Hariri Junior Faculty Fellow. The Institute awarded six Junior Faculty Fellows and seven Graduate Student Fellows, representing early-career faculty and exemplary doctoral students who are pursuing innovative computationally-driven research with the potential for high impact. Our 2023 cohort of fellows represent a variety of colleges and schools across Boston […]