Zoom offers several options for protecting you from unwanted participants or actions that might disrupt your meeting or instruction. Only share the Zoom meeting link with those you invite to a meeting, do not post the meeting link to a publicly accessible site unless the meeting is open to the general public. This page provides options that will protect your meetings, new or existing, with minimal impact on your participants.

To ensure you have the latest set of security features, please update your Zoom application. For assistance, please contact us.

Removing and Reporting Unwanted Participants

If an unwanted participant joins your meeting, hosts or co-hosts can remove them from the session. By default, they will not be allowed to re-enter the meeting.

  1. From the meeting control bar at the bottom of the meeting interface, select “Security.”
  2. Click “Remove Participant…”
  3. Locate the individual you wish to remove and click “Remove.” You will be asked to confirm your action. Press “OK” to remove the participant from the meeting.

Participants can also be reported to Zoom’s Trust and Safety team for suspicious activity, such as joining uninvited, sharing inappropriate content, abusive conduct, and more. To submit a report:

  1. From the meeting control bar at the bottom of the meeting interface, select “Security.”
  2. Click “Report…”
  3. Select the meeting participant you wish to file a report for. You can report active participants, participants you’ve removed, or participants who have left.
  4. Follow the remaining steps of the prompt and click “Send.”

Protecting Meetings With Passcodes

Zoom allows hosts to set passcodes on their meetings to protect against randomly entered or mistakenly typed meeting IDs. When a passcode is enabled, Zoom will include a hash in the meeting URL, allowing your invited attendees to join with one click. Invites will also list the passcode so that participants can join manually or call in by phone, if needed.

When Will Participants Need To Enter Passcodes?

In most cases, you and your participants will not need to explicitly enter a meeting passcode. Meeting invites and Blackboard sessions include a hash in the one-click join URL, allowing your invitees to join the meeting without any extra steps.

If you have connected Zoom with your calendar, the Zoom desktop and mobile apps will allow you to join without any extra steps directly from the Home or Meetings tabs.

The following scenarios will require a participant to enter the passcode:

  • Manually entering a meeting ID number of a passcode-protected meeting whether clicking “Join” in the Zoom app or when joining from https://zoom.us/join.
  • Manually joining a meeting from a SIP or H.323-based telepresence device.
  • Joining a meeting from a phone call when you do not provide your Participant ID number (displayed after joining a meeting from the Zoom client).

Additional Options for Securing Meetings

While adding a passcode to your meeting will protect your meetings from unwanted participants, there are a few other options you can use to better control who has access to your meetings and what they can access once they join.

Enable the Waiting Room

The waiting room is a convenient feature for controlling access to your meeting. Waiting rooms can be enabled when scheduling a meeting and controlled during the meeting, providing hosts with great flexibility. Once enabled, hosts have the ability to selectively or collectively admit participants to the room. While this may not be a good option for large meetings or lectures, it can provide peace of mind in smaller or more private contexts. When the waiting room is enabled, the meeting will not start until a host joins and the meeting participants cannot interact with each other in the waiting room.

To enable the waiting room, simply select “Enable waiting room” when scheduling your meeting or editing a previously scheduled meeting. Once in your meeting, you can temporarily disable or enable the waiting room on the fly:

  1. From the meeting control bar at the bottom of the meeting interface, select “Security.”
  2. Check or uncheck the “Enable Waiting Room” option. The status of the waiting room will immediately change for that meeting.

Participants waiting to be admitted to your meeting will appear in the Participants pane. You can then admit participants individually, or click “Admit All” to bring all waiting participants into the meeting.

Control Who Can Share Content

By default, Zoom allows any meeting participant to share their screen during a meeting. You can change this to only allow hosts to share, both by default for all your meetings or while a meeting is ongoing.