Professor (Physics, ECE, and MSE), Director of Graduate Studies

Research Interests:

Correlated electronic systems, nonlinear excitations, and non-equilibrium phenomena

My research covers three distinct but overlapping areas. With my students and other collaborators, I have investigated correlated electronic systems in reduced spatial dimensions, ranging from conducting polymers through superconducting organic charge transfer salts to graphene and other two-dimensional electronic membranes. Many of these studies have employed a version of the functional Renormalization Group (fRG) that I developed with several colleagues. I have continued my long-term interest in solitons and other nonlinear excitations to studies of “intrinsic localized modes” (ILMs) in solids and in Bose Einstein Condensates (BECs) trapped in optical lattices. Finally. Continuing my interest in the non-equilibrium problem first studied by Fermi, Pasta, Ulam, and Tsingou (FPUT), I am working with collaborators on the so-called “metastable” state that arises in many FPUT simulations and delays (or perhaps prevents) the approach to true thermodynamic equilibrium.

Selected Publications:

D. K. Campbell, D. Baeriswyl, and S. Mazumdar, “Correlations and Defect Energies,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 56, 1509 (1986)

D. K. Campbell, “Solitons and Polarons in Quasi-One-Dimensional Conducting Polymers and Related Materials,” 111-147 in Molecular Electronic Devices II, F. Carter, ed., (Marcel Dekker, 1987).

D. Baeriswyl, D. K. Campbell, and S. Mazumdar, “An Overview of the Theory of π-Conjugated Polymers,” pp. 7-134 in Conjugated Conducting Polymers, H. Kiess, ed., (Springer Verlag, 1992).

S. Mazumdar, S. Rasmasesha, R. T. Clay and D. K. Campbell, “Theory of Coexisting Charge and Spin-Density Waves in (TMTTF)2Br, (TMTSF)2PF6 and alpha-(BEDT-TTF)2MHg(SCN)4,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 82, 1522-1525 (1999).

K. M. Tam, S. W. Tsai, and D. K. Campbell, “Functional renormalization group analysis of the half-filled one-dimensional extended Hubbard model,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 96 036408 (2006).

S. Viola-Kusminskiy, D. K. Campbell, and A. H. Castro Neto, “Electron-electron interactions in graphene bilayers,” EuroPhysics Letters 85, 58005 (2009).

Ka-Ming Tam, Shan-Wen Tsai, and David K. Campbell, “Dominant superconducting fluctuations in the 1D extended Holstein-extended Hubbad model,” Phys. Rev. B 89 014513 (2014).

Salvatore D. Pace, Kevin A. Reiss, and David K. Campbell, “The Beta Fermi-Pasta-Ulam- Tsingou Recurrence Problem,” Chaos 29, 113107 (2019).

Kevin A. Reiss and David K. Campbell, “The Metastable State of Fermi-Pasta-Ulam-Tsingou Models,” Entropy 2023 25, 300 https://doi/10.3390/e25020300 (2023)

For a full list of publications, please see the attached CV.