The annual Distinguished Alumni Award was established in 2014 to recognize and publicize the outstanding accomplishments of the graduates of the Department of Economics’ undergraduate, master’s, and PhD programs. We hope the stories of their achievements will inspire and challenge current students to find their own fulfilling career paths with their BU degrees in hand.

The award is typically presented on campus during the Spring semester, usually at the department’s commencement ceremony; however, the date of the ceremony is decided in consultation with the awardee.


If you’d like to nominate an Economics alum for this award, please send information on your nominee, including contact information and a brief justification, to Professor Marc Rysman at The award recognizes achievements in any area.


2023 Distinguished Alumna: Jane Hyde Williams

2022 Distinguished Alumna: Lisa Emsbo-Mattingly

2019 Distinguished Alumni: Gina Ortiz Jones and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

2018 Distinguished Alumnus: Richard G Frank

2017 Distinguished Alumnus: Jin-Yong Cai

2016 Distinguished Alumnus: Tejash Shah

2015 Distinguished Alumna: Yukiko Okawa Omura

2014 Distinguished Alumnus: Santiago Levy