BU Today

Campus Life

Student Leaders Tapped for Scarlet Key Society

President Robert A. Brown named honorary member


Robert A. Brown. Photo by Kalman Zabarsky

At times, Mark DiCristofaro has wondered whether he can really call film production his major. Over four years at Boston University, he’s logged nearly as many hours in the Student Activities Office as he has in the editing room, serving as the vice president of the Student Union, the vice president of the eating-disorder education group Helping Hands, the founder of the BU Leadership Conference, and a member of the BU Alcohol Task Force. That doesn’t include the time he’s spent in the Fitness and Recreation Center as a senior captain on the men’s golf team and a golf instructor or the work he’s done in the University’s Office of Admissions.

“Contributing to the University really was the juice that got me up in the morning,” says DiCristofaro (CGS’06, COM’08). “I think that being involved on campus conditions you to be the type of person BU wants you to become — a problem solver, a thinker, a communicator. I look at my involvement as an opportunity rather than an obligation or a burden.”

DiCristofaro is among the student leaders who will be inducted into the Scarlet Key Society today, May 15. This year, 45 students — an all-time high — will receive BU’s highest honor for student leadership.

“I think the record number of Scarlet Key inductees speaks volumes about how much the Class of 2008 has been engaged since they arrived on campus four years ago,” says Daryl DeLuca, an assistant dean of students. “I think the fact that this many students will be honored and will be formally inducted tells us that the commitment and investment the University has made to student life and student engagement has paid off and will continue to pay dividends to our community for a long time.”

Scarlet Key recipients are nominated by faculty and staff and are judged in five areas: leadership, commitment, representation, tradition, and academics. This year’s inductees have worked for the Community Service Center’s Student Food Rescue program, sung in the Inner Strength Gospel Choir, and held leadership positions in student government in several schools and colleges, among many other activities.

“Receiving the Scarlet Key is and will be one of the proudest accomplishments of my life,” says Jessica Sklodowski (CAS’08), recognized for her leadership in the International Students Consortium, the Golden Key International Honor Society, and the 2008 Senior Week Committee, as well as other groups. “I really believe in my leadership roles and take pride in the activities I am involved with.”

This year, an Honorary Scarlet Key Award, given to exceptional faculty, staff, alumni, or trustees, will be presented to President Robert A. Brown.

“We agreed that this would be a fine year to recognize President Brown, because of the significant impact he’s had on student life here in his three years as president,” says David Zamojski, assistant dean of students, director of the Office of Residence Life, and a member — with DeLuca, Craig Hill, associate vice president of auxiliary services, and Joseph Mercurio, executive vice president of the University — of the Honorary Scarlet Key Award Committee. “His approach is student-centered, and his contribution has been extraordinary.” Brown will be “tapped” as a member of the society at today’s ceremony.

The 2008 Scarlet Key recipients are: Annie Albagli (CFA’08), Alex Alben (SMG’08), Ericka Barnes (CAS’08), Daniel Bastian (CAS’08), Farrell Boghos (CAS’08), Raul Brens (CAS’08), DiCristofaro, Shara Eisner-Grynberg (SED’08), Stacey Fairweather (CAS’08), Brooke M. Feldman (SED’08, CAS’08), Elizabeth Fierman (COM’08), Mark Foelster (SAR’08), Molly Gallagher (COM’08), Ariel Gold (UNI’08), Shameka Gregory (CAS’08), Kate Guastaferro (CGS’06, CAS’08), Jonathan Hammer (SMG’08), Soren Hessler (UNI’08), Zachary Hobbs (CAS’08), Catherine Imes (CAS’08), Timothy “Ace” Jenkins (CAS’08), Ricardo Junquera (CGS’06, CAS’08), Allison Mazuek (CAS’08), Terrance McGovern (ENG’08), Joshua Merson (SAR’08), Jacques Paul Minoyan (CGS’06, CAS’08), Jessica Moore (SMG’08), Erica Mosca (CGS’06, CAS’08), Feather Moy-Welsh (CGS’06, CAS’08), Francesca Okolie (CGS’06, CAS’08), Karalynn O’Rourke (CAS’08), James M. Perry (SMG’08), Charles Pollack (CAS’08), Vanessa Porter (CGS’06, CAS’08), Elena Quattrone (SAR’08), Jennifer Quigley (UNI’08), Ceila Ann Richa (CAS’08), Ronak Shah (CAS’08), Sklodowski, Carnot Sylvestre (MET’08), Jessica Taylor (CAS’08), Molly Uppenkamp (CAS’08), Jamie Lynn Williams (CGS’06, UNI’08), Rani Woods (CGS’06, CAS’08), and Adil Yunis (CAS’08).

Award recipients will be formally inducted in a Tapping Ceremony today, May 15, at 5 p.m. in the George Sherman Union’s Metcalf Hall. Scarlet Key alumni interested in attending should contact Katherine Hasenauer, assistant to the dean of students, at 617-353-4126 or at khasena1@bu.edu.

Jessica Ullian can be reached at jullian@bu.edu.

+ Comments

Post Your Comment

(never shown)