External Advisory Board

The Initiative on Cities is proud to introduce the members of our External Advisory Board, comprised of leading city officials, urban scholars, and other experts who counsel the Initiative’s staff about emerging trends and issues and help shape the Initiative’s priorities.

Current Board

  • Julian Agyeman
    Professor of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning | Tufts University
  • Isabelle Anguelovski
    Director of the Barcelona Laboratory for Urban Environmental Justice and Sustainability
  • Prabal Chakrabarti
    Executive Vice President and Community Affairs Officer | Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
  • Mindy Thompson Fullilove
    Co-Founder, Cities Research Group | MD, Professor of Urban Policy and Health | The New School
  • Sandra B. Henriquez
    Chief Executive Officer of the Detroit Housing Commission
  • Derek Hyra
    Professor of Public Administration and Policy and Founding Director, Metropolitan Policy Center | American University
  • Katharine Lusk
    Executive Director of the Boston Planning Advisory Council, Former Co-Director of the Initiative on Cities
  • David Miller Former Mayor of Toronto
    Managing Director of the C40 Centre for City Climate Policy and Economy
  • Chris Murray
    Consultant and Founder of Urban Psyche | Former Director of Core Cities UK
  • Enrique Silva
    Chief Program Officer | Lincoln Institute of Land Policy

Past Board (2019-2022)

For past members’ full bios, please click here.

  • Jamie Alderslade
    Director, Impact and Insights | Citi Community Investing and Development
  • Andrea Coleman
    Government Innovation | Bloomberg Philanthropies
  • Luis Ricardo Fraga
    Professor of Transformative Latino Leadership and Political Science | University of Notre Dame
  • Bruce Katz
    Director of the Nowak Metro Finance Lab | Drexel University
  • Pam Kocher
    President | Boston Municipal Research Bureau
  • Alan Leventhal
    Founder, Chairman, and Chief Executive Officer | Beacon Capital Partners
  • Virginia Mayer
    Washington Representative for the City of Boston | Director, National Conference of Democratic Mayors
  • George W. McCarthy
    President and Chief Executive Officer | Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
  • David Miller Former Mayor of Toronto
    Director of International Diplomacy | C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group
  • Cathy E. Minehan Former President of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
    Co-Chair, Boston Women’s Workforce Council
  • Michael Nutter Former Mayor of Philadelphia
    David N. Dinkins Professor of Professional Practice in Urban and Public Policy | Columbia University School of International and Public Affairs
  • Ryan Whalen
    Senior Advisor | Bloomberg Philanthropies