Biology Department Travel Grant

The Biology Department Undergraduate Travel Grant program offers BMB students the opportunity to receive funding for travel and participation in research conferences or other professional development activities that support their education and career path. Financial support for this grant is made possible through annual Giving Day donations. Apply here

Biology Department Undergraduate Research Award

The Biology Research & Honors Committee gives this annual award to outstanding seniors of any major who are performing research in Biology Department labs. A stipulation for receiving the award is that the candidate present an overview of their research at one of the weekly Biology Department Seminars. The winners are also given a monetary gift from the Department.

2021 recipients: Elena Gomez (Warkentin lab), Anthony Khoudary (Gavornik lab), and Katie Tiemeyer (McCall lab)
2020 recipients: Rose Zhao (Siggers lab), Jasmine Clevenger (Otchy lab), and Madison Pacaro (Buston lab)
2019 recipients: Eva Fandozzi (Traniello lab), Christopher Petty (Naya lab), and Emma Martin (Rotjan lab)

Outstanding Learning Assistant Award

The Biology Department annually bestows this award on a group of Undergraduate Learning Assistants of any major whose poster presentation best outlines procedures for improving teaching in our undergraduate laboratories. Financial support for this award was made possible by Biology Professor Emerita Elizabeth Godrick.

Spring 2021 recipients: Kaitlin Farias, Tara O’Brien, Careena Uppaluri, and Rebecca Yu
Fall 2020 recipients: Sophia Aburida, Genesis Bolado, Madison Homsey, and Akhila Sonti
Fall 2019 recipients: Krithi Gopalan, Khushali Mashruwala, Lydia Simon, and Ben Skross
Spring 2019 recipients: Chloe Cho, Joseph Distefano, Taylor Epstein, and Dimitri Moshovitis
2018 recipients: Louis Beers, Phanirekha Chandra, Fernanda Neri Mini, and Alexander Nguyen

Outstanding Achievement in Research and Scholarship

The BMB Program gives out this award at graduation to a few seniors to honor their work in research as well as their academic achievements. The recipients are also given a monetary gift from the Program.

2021 recipients: Roxanna Altus, Surya Pulukuri, Emily Traficante, Sainetra Sridhar, Michelle Pan, Katie Tiemeyer, and Sunnie Kong
2020 recipients: Seoyoung (Audrey) Kim, Lake Murphy, Rose Zhao, Victoria Momyer
2019 recipients: YueKun (David) Liu, Maggie Mangas, Christopher Petty, Jeff Arni C. Valisno

Senior College Prize for Excellence in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

The BMB Program gives out this award to the senior who, through a combination of scholarship and service, has had the greatest impact on the BMB community. The recipient is recognized at the CAS Dean’s Awards and Recognition Ceremony as well as at the BMB Convocation. A monetary gift is given by the Program.

2021 recipient: Gwen Pyeatt
2020 recipient: Meera Kumanan
2019 recipient: Bryan O. Seguinot Zapata