Award Winning Faculty

09-1531-DETAILS-018Nobel Prize

Presidential Citizens Medal

Pulitzer Prize

  • Isabel Wilkerson: Pulitzer Prize in Journalism, 2004, for feature writing for her coverage of the historic floods in the Midwest and for her profile of a ten-year-old boy growing up with a man’s obligations on the South Side of Chicago.
  • Sacha Pfeiffer: Pulitzer Prize in Public Service, 2003, for her work as part of the Boston Globe’s investigative Spotlight Team on a series of articles about sexual abuse in the Roman Catholic Church.
  • Thomas E. Fiedler: Pulitzer Prize in Journalism, 1991, for his investigative report into an extremist cult’s political tactics, part of a Miami Herald series. During his 2001–2007 tenure as executive editor, the newspaper was awarded two additional Pulitzer Prizes.
  • David Del Tredici: Pulitzer Prize in Music, 1980, for “In Memory of a Summer Day.”
  • Robert Lowell (1917–1997): Pulitzer Prize in Poetry, 1947, for Lord Weary’s Castle.

Metcalf Award

American Physical Society

British Medical Association Book Award

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

American Academy of Arts and Letters

National Academy of Sciences

Institute of Medicine

National Academy of Engineering

American Academy of Sciences

MacArthur Fellows

U.S. Poet Laureates

Sloan Fellows

Guggenheim Fellowships

Humboldt Fellowship