Florence Engel Randall Fiction Award

The annual Florence Engel Randall Fiction Awards are administered by the BUWG, thanks to an endowed fund established by the late Ruth Levine, a longtime Guild member; Stewart Randall, Mrs. Randall’s son, and others.

The Almost Year by Florence Engel RandallFlorence Engel Randall (1917—1997) was the author of The Almost Year, a 1971 American Library Association Notable Book, and five other successful novels, as well as more than one hundred short stories published in both literary and popular periodicals. Her papers are at Boston University’s Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center. Ms. Randall was vitally interested in the careers of young writers, guiding many from the inception and writing of their work through sale and publication. This annual award honors her contributions to literature through her own work and her support of the work of others.

The undergraduate award winner is selected by a short story competition open to all undergraduate women at the University. The graduate award is given to the outstanding woman in the Creative Writing Program, as selected by program faculty.

Undergraduate Fiction Award, Application Period and Requirements

  • Application Period:  January 17, 2024 to March 1, 2024
  • Deadline: March 1, 2024
  • Entry Formatting Requirements:
    1) PDF format required,
    2) double-spaced,
    3) use a conventional typeface of 12 point or larger,
    4) single-sided,
    5) numbered pages,
    6) story title on each page
  • Applicants may submit one work of fiction.
  • Applicants must be a currently enrolled BU undergraduate student.

If you have questions, please contact the Scholarship Chair: Elizabeth Flagg, eflagg@bu.edu.