Nortie congrats!

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners of last night’s Elliot Norton Awards, but especially to: Playwright alum and faculty member Melinda Lopez, Outstanding New Script for Mala Maureen Keiller, Outstanding Actress—Small or Fringe Theater for her work in Faithless and The Honey Trap (here at BPT) and Oh God (Israeli Stage) Current MFA playwright […]

Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards announced

KCACTF winners past and present at BPT for Peter M. Floyd’s Absence. L-R: Stephanie Brownell, Abbey Fenbert, Peter M. Floyd, John Kuntz and Michael Parsons. (Thanks for the photo, Kate!) Great KCACTF news for current MFA students and alums: Abbey Fenbert’s Intentions was awarded the Mark Twain Prize for Comic Playwriting; Michael Parsons’ Sumner Falls […]

Alumni news, in brief:

Ronan Noone’s new play, The Compass Rose (produced by Fat Violet Theatre), is part of NYC’s annual 1st Irish Festival Sept. 12-29… Molly Smith Metzler’s Elemeno Pea plays at Carolina Actors Studio Theatre through Sept. 21… SL1 12:32 a.m. by K. Alexa Mavromatis was voted Audience Favorite at The T Plays V: Last Call, presented by the Mill 6 Collaborative… MJ […]

Winning trio

A trio of Boston KCACTF winners at last month’s National Festival in Washington, D.C.: Rick Park (L) won the Mark Twain Prize for Comic Playwriting for Gay Guy, Fat Girl; Lesley University’s Lisa Kenner Grissom (C) won the National Ten-Minute Play Award for Tattoo You; and Michael Parsons (R) won the Rosa Parks and the […]

Let the party begin: New playwriting opp from CSW and BPT

Big news: Read all about this new opportunity from The Cambridge School of Weston and BPT! Details and full guidelines follow. The Cambridge School of Weston (CSW) theatre department in cooperation with Boston University/Boston Playwrights’ Theatre (BPT), announced a new playwriting award today for New England playwrights. Once a year, the CSW theatre department seeks […]


Slam dunk: Kate, who was inducted to the Wichita North High School Hall of Fame last week, during halftime at the varsity boys basketball game. (They won, by the way, beating Southeast 76-53.)