Michael Parsons

Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards announced

KCACTF winners past and present at BPT for Peter M. Floyd’s Absence. L-R: Stephanie Brownell, Abbey Fenbert, Peter M. Floyd, John Kuntz and Michael Parsons. (Thanks for the photo, Kate!) Great KCACTF news for current MFA students and alums: Abbey Fenbert’s Intentions was awarded the Mark Twain Prize for Comic Playwriting; Michael Parsons’ Sumner Falls […]

Winning trio

A trio of Boston KCACTF winners at last month’s National Festival in Washington, D.C.: Rick Park (L) won the Mark Twain Prize for Comic Playwriting for Gay Guy, Fat Girl; Lesley University’s Lisa Kenner Grissom (C) won the National Ten-Minute Play Award for Tattoo You; and Michael Parsons (R) won the Rosa Parks and the […]

Parsons’ ‘The Lighthouse’ wins John Cauble Award for Outstanding Short Play

Michael Parsons’ The Lighthouse won the John Cauble Award for Outstanding Short Play at last weekend’s Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF). The award includes $500, a professional development fellowship, and active membership in The Dramatists Guild. Last month, Michael’s play Homeland was announcedas the winner of this year’s Rosa Parks Playwriting Award for […]

Alumni news, in brief:

The CFA’s production of John Shea’s Erin Go Bragh-less has been honored by KCACTF as a Distinguished Production of a New Work; director Hondo Weiss-Richmond was recognized as a Distinguished Director of A New Play; and the cast and crew were honored as a Distinguished Performance and Production Ensemble… Michael Parsons’ one-act The Lighthouse is […]

Parsons’ ‘Homeland’ wins Rosa Parks Playwriting Award

Michael Parsons’ Homeland is this year’s recipient of the Rosa Parks Playwriting Award for plays on the theme of Civil Rights and Social Justice. The award is part of the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program, a series of awards presented annually by the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. This comes with a $1,000 cash award, […]

Alumni news, in brief:

One-act plays by Michael Parsons (The Lighthouse) and Jaclyn Villano (The Rain Fell Up), and ten-minute plays by MJ Halberstadt (w4m) and Jaclyn Villano (Ratings Worthy) will be presented at the KCACTF Region 1 Festival. The event will be held in Hyannis in January… Walt McGough has been announced as one of the Huntington Theatre […]