Sports Seasons

There are defined seasons for all of Australia’s major sports, though inevitably the seasons overlap these days. The usual months are outlined below:

  • Australian Rules Football (AFL) from April to October
  • Men’s Basketball (NBL) from October to March
  • Women’s Basketball (WNBL) from October to March
  • Cricket (PURA Cup, Test matches and One-Day Internationals) from October to April
  • Rugby League (ARL) from April to October
  • Rugby Union:  Super 15 from February to September and test matches from June to November.
  • Soccer (A – League) from October to April
Local Teams
  • AFL – Sydney Swans
  • NBL – Sydney Kings and West Sydney Razorbacks
  • WNBL – Sydney Flames (home court is Sydney University)
  • Cricket – NSW Blues
  • Rugby League – Sydney based teams are the Canterbury Bulldogs, Manly Sea Eagles, Parramatta Eels, Penrith Panthers, St. George Illawarra Dragons, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney City Roosters, West Tigers