Great news from KCACTF

L-R: Jackie Davis and Krystal Hernandez in Alexis Scheer’s Laughs in Spanish (Photo: Kalman Zabarsky)

Playwright alum Alexis Scheer’s Laughs in Spanish, produced by BPT in 2019, is the recipient of KCACTF’s Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award. The award includes a check for $7,500, membership in the Dramatists Guild of America and the Playwrights’ Center of Minneapolis, an offer of publication from Samuel French, and a professional development residency, to be determined, in summer 2020.

Two second-year Playwriting MFA students have also been recognized by the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival with national awards:

Caity-Shea Violette’s Slow Jam is the 2020 winner of the Gary Garrison National Ten-Minute Play Award, which includes $500 and active membership in the Dramatists Guild of America. The award is named in honor of the distinguished professor of playwriting, and is granted to the outstanding  student-written ten-minute play.

Cayenne Douglass’s Maiden Voyage is the second-place recipient of the Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award, a cash prize of $500. The award is presented in the memory of the distinguished dramatist for the outstanding KCACTF student-written plays on the subject of the African-American experience.

Congratulations, all! (KCACTF’s National Festival was scheduled to take place in April, but is unfortunately cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.)