Principal Investigator

Dr. Emily M. Ryan (CV)
ryanem@bu.edu
(617) 353 - 7767

Education
Ph.D in Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, 2009
M.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, 2008
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Tufts University, 2004

Current Research
Development of meso-scale, device-scale and multi-scale models for energy systems

Graduate Students

Sandra Abago
sabago@bu.edu

Education
B.S. in Chemical Engineering and B.S. in Material Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2012

Current Research
Thermodynamic modeling of reactions and degredation in SOFCs

Erin Arai
erin.arai@gmail.com

Education
M.A. in Astronomy, Wesleyan University, 2010
B.A. in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Harvard University, 2008

Current Research
Smoothed particle hydrodynamics modeling of Li-Air batteries

William A. Lane (CV)
lanew@bu.edu

Education
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, University of New Brunswick, 2012

Current Research
Sub-grid filtering models for heat transfer in multiphase flows

Christopher Moulder
moulder@bu.edu

Education
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2010

Current Research
Uncertainty quantification and analysis of multiphase flows

Jinwang Tan
jinwang@bu.edu

Education
M.S. in Biomedical Engineering, University of Missouri, 2010
B.S. in Biomedical Engineering, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, 2008

Current Research
Operation and degradation of advanced battery technologies

Michael Ziebell
mziebell@rcn.com

Education
B.A. in Physics, Earlham College, 1991
PhD in Biophysics, SUNY Stony Brook, 1999
M.A. in Computer Science, Boston University Metropolitan College, 2015 (expected)

Current Research
Modeling carbon sequestration using machine learning/neural networks

Undergraduate Students

Carlos H. P. Coutinho
carlos@bu.edu

Education
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Boston University, 2015 (expected)

Current Research
Kinetics, charge and mass transport of the cathode in SOFCs

Luis B. Luque
lbluque@gmail.com

Education
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Boston University, 2015 (expected)

Current Research
Heat transfer in gas-solid fluidized beds with immersed cylinders

Yash Soni
yasoni@bu.edu

Education
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Boston University, 2016 (expected)

Current Research
Cathode pore design in lithium-air batteries

Alumni

Emily Broude
Group Position: High-School Research Intern (RISE)
Research Topic: Modeling the effects of pore geometry in lithium air batteries
Current Position: Senior at Hastings High School

Benjamin A. Schrage
Group Position: M.S. Graduate Student
Research Topic: Modeling the operation and degradation of solid-oxide fuel cells
Current Position: Support technician, Omni Soft (San Francisco, CA)

Kelsey R. Bilsback
Group Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Research Topic: Modeling heat transfer in two-phase fluidized beds
Current Posision: Graduate student in Mechanical Engineering at Colorado State University (Fort Collins, CO)

Adit Namdev
Group Position: High-School Research Intern (RISE)
Research Topic: Modeling the effects of tortuosity in lithium air batteries
Current Position: Undergraduate in Electrical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, PA)

Mascot

Bailey
Bailey is the lab mascot and is passionate about sustainable energy and hot dogs