VOTE: Faculty Council Officers Election

April 6th, 2015 in Uncategorized

In observance of our governing documents, the Nominating Committee has identified two candidates for Vice-Chair and two candidates for Secretary-treasurer of the Faculty Council.

The candidates for Vice Chair are: J. Robb Dixon (QST) and D. Lynn O’Brien Hallstein (CGS).  The candidates for Secretary-treasurer are: Janelle Heineke (QST) and Hee-Young Park (MED).

Current members of the Faculty Assembly are eligible to vote.

Click here to read the candidates’ statements and access the poll.

Save the Date: Faculty Assembly November 10, 2014

October 24th, 2014 in Uncategorized

Dear Colleagues:

The Faculty Assembly will convene on Monday, November 10, 2014, 3:00-5:00 p.m. in the Tsai Auditorium, with a reception to follow.  Faculty on the Medical Campus may participate via video conference in the Dean’s Conference Room.

President Brown will preside over the meeting.

The topics scheduled for discussion include: faculty salaries, the task force on general education, the data science hiring initiative, the University diversity statement, and Faculty Council committee initiatives. The formal agenda will be sent to you before the meeting.

The Faculty Assembly is an opportunity for a dialogue about the academic life of the University.  Please mark your calendars and join the discussion on November 10.


Dr. Steve Brady
Chair, Faculty Council
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Boston University School of Medicine

Result: CFA Dean Search Advisory Committee Vote

October 21st, 2014 in Uncategorized

The Faculty Council elected the following people to serve on the CFA Dean Search Advisory Committee via online ballot:

John Bernstein
Associate Professor
Department of Film and TV
College of Communication

J. Robb Dixon
Associate Professor
Department of Operations and Management
School of Management

Result: CAS Dean Search Advisory Committee Vote

October 8th, 2014 in Uncategorized

At its regular meeting yesterday, the Faculty Council elected the following people to serve on the Committee:

Judith Chafee
Associate Professor
College of Fine Arts

Walter Fluker
Martin Luther King, Jr. Professor of Ethical Leadership
School of Theology

2014-2015 Meeting Calendar

July 31st, 2014 in Uncategorized

The 2014-2105 meeting calendar for the Faculty Assembly meetings, Faculty Council meetings, and Executive Committee meetings is available here.

Notice: Proposed Change to By-laws of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Council

April 11th, 2014 in Uncategorized

The Credentials and By-laws Committee of the Faculty Council proposes a change to By-laws of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Council.

This information was emailed to the Faculty Council on April 11, 2014.

It is also available here.

The Faculty Council will convene on Tuesday, April 22, 2014 in the Kenmore Conference Room, 1 Silber Way, Room 916, from 3:30-5:00 p.m. to vote on this proposed change.

Results: Nominating Committee Vote

April 2nd, 2014 in Uncategorized

The Nominating Committee is mandated by the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly. The committee consists of five current Faculty Assembly members. It is charged with recruiting and recommending candidates for Vice-chair, Secretary-treasurer, and for chairs and members of the Standing Committees of the Faculty Council.

The Faculty Assembly elected the 2014-2016 Nominating Committee in spring 2014 via online ballot.

Ruth Paris (SSW)
Erol Pekoz (SMG)
Erinn Tucker (SHA)
Mary Warner (MED)
Ziming Xuan (SPH)

Update: Nominating Committee Ballot

March 25th, 2014 in Uncategorized

Dear Colleagues:

There was an error in the ballot that was sent to you on Monday, March 24, 2014 to vote for the Nominating Committee for the 2014-2016 term.

A new poll will be launched shortly.  You will receive a link to the corrected ballot via broadcast email and it will be posted on this site as well.

Faculty Assembly Spring 2014 Agenda

March 14th, 2014 in Uncategorized

The agenda for the Faculty Assembly Spring 2014 meeting on Wednesday, March 19, 2014 at the Tsai Auditorium at 3:00 p.m. is available here.


Call for Nominations: 2014 Perkins Award for Distinguished Service

January 31st, 2014 in Uncategorized

The Faculty Council is accepting nominations for the 2014 John S. Perkins Award for Distinguished Service.

Click here for more information.

Nominations and letters of support are due on Friday, February 28, 2014.