The Norman A. Scotch Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to the education program of Boston University School of Public Health. The award is named for our founding Dean, who decided to make excellence in education a hallmark of Boston University School of Public Health. Focusing on quality in teaching is not always typical of graduate education.

The award is meant to recognize individuals, faculty or others, who have substantially enriched the educational experience for the students at the School.  For the purposes of this award, teaching is broadly defined to include superior performance in classroom teaching, innovation and creativity in course design, commitment to the advising and mentoring of students, and/or excellence in other activities that contribute to student education.  The 2014 Scotch Award will be presented at the School of Public Health Commencement ceremony on May 17, 2014.  The awardee will receive an engraved Revere bowl to commemorate receipt of the award, and will also receive a prize of $1,000.  The recipient’s name will be engraved on the Scotch Award tray that hangs in the Founder’s room of the Talbot Building.

The primary purpose of the Scotch Award is to recognize contributions by School of Public Health faculty.  All faculty of the School are eligible for this award including full-time, part-time, and adjunct faculty.  Under exceptional circumstances, an individual who is not a member of the faculty may be given this award if he or she has made truly outstanding and sustained contributions to the education program of the School.

Please take a moment, using this form: 2014 Scotch Award Nomination Form to nominate a teacher or colleague whom you believe fulfills the criteria for this important recognition.  As recent winners Judith Bernstein, Wendy Heiger-Bernays, Taryn Vian, Vicky Parker, and James Wolff are not eligible this year.  Nominations should be submitted to Mary Murphy-Phillips at, or in Talbot 208center by Thursday, April 10th.

The awardee will be chosen by an Ad Hoc Committee chaired by me and comprised of two faculty (recent Scotch award winners), two current students and two recent alumni.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to submit a nomination.  Teaching is the most important activity of our faculty, and our outstanding teachers deserve special recognition.

Questions? Contact Mary Murphy-Phillips at

View all announcements