The Advisory Council for Research Administration (ACRA) was established in 2016 to help build streamlined, simplified, and compliant ways to support the Boston University research enterprise. ACRA brings together representatives from across the research-intensive schools and related central offices to create an engaged and impactful BU research administration community.

ACRA Committee Charter

Contact email:

Council Goals

  • Discuss process improvement, training, communication
  • Help identify issues and areas for improvement, both locally and centrally
  • Share insights, guidance and feedback
  • Actively work together to develop solutions
  • Disseminate information discussed at Council
  • Engage and develop the university wide research community

Council Members

Executive Sponsor

  • Gloria Waters, Vice President & Associate Provost for Research


  • Gretchen Hartigan, Assistant Vice President, Research – Sponsored Programs, Post-Award
  • Renna Lilly, Assistant Vice President, Sponsored Programs, Research – Pre-Award Services
  • Valerie LeBrun, Director, Grants & Finance Shared Services, Research- Shared Services Grants and Finance


    • Diane Baldwin, Associate Vice President, Sponsored Programs
    • Solaris Bujor, Financial and Administrative Director, School of Medicine – BUSM Financial & Grants Admin
    • Valeria Stefania Claret, Grants Administrator, Shared Services and Finance, Kilachand Honors College
    • Nancy Clinton, Managing Director, Mass Open Cloud Alliance, Hariri Institute
    • Jean Daley, Associate Director of Research, Sargent College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
    • Tina DaSilva, Executive Director, Research Operations, Research Executive Services, BMC
    • Melissa Doub, Senior Grants Officer, Finance and Administration, School of Social Work
    • Melissa Downs, Associate Comptroller, Financial Affairs- Research Finance & Property Management
    • Brianna Fanning, Associate Comptroller, Financial Affairs- General Accounting & Financial Reporting
    • Emeka Madubuike, Sr. Research Administrator, School of Public Health
    • Tyler Flack, Manager, Research Finance, Research Executive Services, BMC
    • Fiona Germain, Human Resources Business Partner, Human Resourcesy
    • Aline Hillman, Administrative Director, School of Medicine – Pulmonary – Mizgerd Lab
    • Julia Huntsman,  Director, School of Medicine – Office of Proposal Development
    • Shantell Jarrett, Grants Administrator, Shared Services and Finance, Kilachand Honors College
    • Emily Johnson, Grants & Operations Manager, Research – Hariri Institute 
    • Rachelle Joseph, Director, Research Administration, School of Medicine – DOM Central Administration
    • Nicolette Kelly, Grants Administrator, Shared Services Grants and Finance, Wheelock College of Education and Human Development
    • Mairead Leahy, Proposal Development Specialist, Research Administration, College of Arts & Sciences
    • Linda Martin, Associate Vice President, Research – Research 1
    • Nadija Mujagic, Assistant Dean for Research Administration, College of Engineering
    • Mahara Pinheiro, Senior Manager, Sponsored Programs, BMC
    • Ryan Russell,  Director of Operations, Analytics & Systems, Sponsored Programs
    • Marianne Taylor, Senior Grants Administrator, Wheelock – Office of the Dean – WCEHD Research


    • Catherine Ahern, Training Manager, Sponsored Programs