Committee Charter Advisory Council for Research Administration

Created: 1/14/2020

Statement of Purpose:

The Advisory Council for Research Administration (ACRA) was established in 2016 to help build streamlined, simplified, and compliant ways to support the Boston University research enterprise. ACRA brings together representatives from across the research-intensive schools and related central offices to create an engaged and impactful BU research administration community.

Approach:

The meeting is scheduled monthly during the academic year. Meeting content includes but is not limited to: relaying key updates and/or changes from across all areas of research related to federal compliance requirements, institutional standards, new central policy and/or system changes, sharing reminders and best practices, raising questions, collaborative problem solving, and discussion of major initiatives and updates from other areas that may have a potential impact in the area of research as a whole.

Goals/Objectives:

- Discuss process improvement, training, communication
- Help identify issues and areas for improvement, both locally and centrally
- Share insights, guidance, and feedback
- Actively work together to develop solutions
- Disseminate information discussed
- Engage and develop the university-wide research community

Benefits:

- Provide a forum for both central and department administration to raise issues, pilot solutions, and increase awareness
- Share best practices and promote operational consistency and standardization across the schools/colleges
- Create a space that allows a direct connection between central administration and the schools/colleges

Outcomes:

- Best practices shared
- Resources developed and shared
- Knowledge shared/transferred
- Institutional/departmental administration network
- Community forums

Committee Structure:

- Sponsors: Gloria Waters, Ph.D., Vice President & Associate Provost, Research
 - <u>Chair:</u> Diane Baldwin, Associate Vice President, Sponsored Programs, Research Sponsored Programs
- <u>Co-Chairs:</u> Jean Daley, Associate Director of Research, SAR Research Administration Rachelle Joseph, Director, Research Administration, School of Medicine - DOM Central Administration
- <u>Members:</u> Consist of senior leadership, administrative and associate deans for research, department administrators, and BMC research leadership A full list of active members can be found in Appendix A



Assumptions:

- Shared resources, updates, contacts, templates, etc. will be made available to all committee members
- Committee members agree to raise the profile of ACRA through continued communication within their area of the research community
- All suggestions will be acknowledged regardless of the priority level
- Committee members agree to contribute in the interest of improving the streams of communication and knowledge awareness within the research community

Meeting Structure and Frequency:

- A monthly recurring Outlook Calendar meeting (moderated by the Committee Chair) will be sent to all committee members
 - o Meetings are scheduled alternating between the CRC and BUMC campuses
- At least one representative from each school/college listed is <u>required</u> to attend every committee meeting
 - Skype options will be available for those who are unable to attend in-person (in-person attendance is preferred)

Static Meeting Agenda:

- Static Meeting Agenda
 - o Committee chair provides updates and shares resources as necessary
 - Discussion of topics as put forth by committee members in advance of the meeting
 - o Raise questions/concerns related to research related business
 - Follow-up from previous meetings

Documentation:

Meeting minutes and all materials distributed at the meeting will be made available to all committee members by way of email or the ACRA website

Appendix A - Committee Members (as of January 2020)

Name, Position, Department/School

- Diane Baldwin, Associate Vice President, Sponsored Programs, Research Sponsored Programs
- Cynthia Bradford, Proposal Development Specialist, College & Grad School of Arts & Sciences Biology
- Solaris Bujor, Financial and Administrative Director, School of Medicine BUSM Financial & Grants Admin
- Grace Cashman, Sr. Director of Research Administration, BMC
- Nancy Clinton, Administrative Manager, School of Medicine Center-Whitaker Administration
- Jean Daley, Associate Director of Research, Sargent College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
- Nikki De Leon, Senior Research Administrator, Office of Sponsored Programs
- Gillian Emmons, Associate VP And University Comptroller's Office, Comptroller's Office
- Fiona Germain, Human Resources Business Partner, Human Resources
- Kevin Gonzalez, Director of Operations Research Kilachand Charles River Campus
- Michael Gooley, Financial Manager, College & Grad School of Arts & Sciences Chemistry
- Andrea Gordon, Grants Administrator, College of Engineering ENG Administration
- Meredith Hanna, Executive Director of Administration School of Public Health Health Law Policy & Management Dept.
- Gretchen Hartigan, Assistant Vice President, Post Award Financial Operations
- Aline Hillman, Administrative Director, School of Medicine Pulmonary Mizgerd Lab
- Vivian Holmes, Assistant Dean, Research Administration, School of Public Health Research & Faculty Advancement
- Julia Huntsman, Director, School of Medicine Office of Proposal Development
- Rachelle Joseph, Director, Research Administration, School of Medicine DOM Central Administration
- Marla Krauss, Proposal Development Specialist, College Arts & Sciences
- Renna Lilly, Director, Research Pre-Award Services
- Douglas Luke, Senior Manager, Finance & Administration | Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies
- Jen Marron, Assistant Dean of Grants Administration, College of Engineering
- Linda Martin, Associate Vice President, Research Research 1
- Sara Martin, Business Manager, College & Grad School of Arts & Sciences Biology
- Jennifer Rogers, Training Manager, Post-Award Financial Operations (PAFO)
- Patricia Sheehan, Executive Director, Talent Man, Human Resources
- Andy Soares White, Vice President For Finance Operations, Financial Affairs
- Bettina Stevens, Associate Dean, Finance & Administration, Sargent College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
- Marianne Taylor, Senior Grants Administrator, Wheelock Office of the Dean WCEHD Research
- Stephanie Wasserman, Director, Grants and Contracts, BMC



Advisory Council for Research Administration

• Gloria Waters, Vice President and Associate Provost for Research