Public Health District Incentive Grants

Massachusetts Department of Public Health (MDPH) has received a five year award from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for the program, and is funding five sites across the Commonwealth.  MDPH contracted with BUSPH to coordinate the PHDIG program, including facilitating a Learning Collaborative of the grantees, which come together several times a year to share their experiences, support one another, learn from experts in the field (e.g. legal, governance) and public health districts from around the country, and share best practices.Additional Technical Assistance is offered to the Sites through the following organizations and functions:

Health Resources in Action – Providing Community Health Assessment assistance
Institute for Community Health – Providing Programmatic Evaluation assistance
Massachusetts Association of Health Boards – Providing Legal Assistance

The Five PHDIG Sites Supported in Massachusetts:

  • Berkshire Public Health Alliance (Berkshire Alliance)
  • Central MA Regional Public Health Alliance (Alliance)
  • Cooperative Public Health Service (FRCOG)
  • Montachusett Public Health Network (MPHN)
  • North Shore Public Health Services Program (NSPHSP)
   Berkshire Public Health Alliance (Berkshire Alliance)

♦ Adams, Alford, Becket, Clarksburg, Dalton, Egremont, Florida, Hancock, Great Barrington, Lanesborough, Mount Washington, New Marlborough,  North Adams, Peru, Richmond, Sandisfield, Savoy, Sheffield, Washington, West Stockbridge, Windsor, and Williamstown ♦

The Berkshire Alliance is a shared services public health delivery model formed across 22 municipalities, with the Berkshire Regional Planning Commission as the lead fiduciary agent. All 21 communities have signed an Inter-Municipal Agreement (IMA) allowing them to share public health services.

    Central MA Regional Public Health Alliance (Alliance)

♦ Grafton, Holden, Leicester, Millbury, Shrewsbury, West Boylston, and Worcester ♦

The Alliance has created a municipally managed Comprehensive Health District, based in Worcester, with a single set of employees that offers both community and environmental health services throughout the district.

   Cooperative Public Health Service (FRCOG)

♦ Buckland, Charlemont, Conway, Deerfield, Gill, Hawley, Heath, Leyden, Monroe, Shelburne ♦

The Cooperative Public Health Service is a health district located at the Franklin Regional Council of Governments in Franklin County, the most rural county of the state.  The CPHS offers both comprehensive and shared services membership through four distinct programs: (1) Food Safety, (2) Title 5 and Private Wells, (3) Community Sanitation, and (4) Public Health Nursing.  Nine towns share a public health nurse, and seven towns share a regional health agent. The CPHS is governed by an Oversight Board that meets monthly to create regional policy, set fees, review grants, review staff performance, and approve budgets.

   Montachusett Public Health Network (MPHN)

♦ Athol, Clinton, Fitchburg, Gardner, Leominster, Philipston, Princeton, Royalston, Sterling, Templeton, and Westminster ♦

MPHN is a shared services collaboration with the City of Fitchburg as the lead agency. Its goal is  to share consistent quality health services, and the costs associated, across the district especially where current gaps exist.

   North Shore Public Health Services Program (NSPHSP)

Beverly, Danvers, Lynn, Marblehead, Nahant, Peabody, Salem, and Swampscott ♦

NSPHSP is building a shared service collaboration across eight north shore communities with Salem as the lead community.