#### Boston University Office of the Provost

### Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

TO:	Boston University Faculty
FROM:	Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer
	April 14, 2022
SUBJECT:	2022 University Lecture – Call for Nominations

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2022 University Lecturer.

The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics, yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community. Nomination forms for the University Lecturer should be submitted by May 20, 2022, via email to provost@bu.edu.

Information about the Lectureship, a list of past lecturers, and a downloadable 2022 nomination form can be found on the following website: <u>https://www.bu.edu/provost/awards-publications/award-opportunities/lecture/</u>.

The selection process for the Lecture is designed to seek the input of a broad cross-section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination of candidates who reflect BU's commitment to diversity and inclusion. The membership of the 2022 University Lecture Committee charged with assisting with the selection is listed below.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research efforts of Boston University's talented faculty.

# 2022 University Lecture Committee

## **Chair:**

Louis Chude-Sokei Professor of English; George and Joyce Wein Chair in African American Studies; Director, African American Studies Program, College of Arts & Sciences

## Members:

- **Christopher Beaudoin**, Professor of Mass Communication, Advertising & Public Relations, College of Communication
- **Pankaj Mehta**, Professor of Physics, College of Arts & Sciences; Professor of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering
- Catherine O'Connor, Professor of Education and Linguistics, Wheelock College of Education & Human Development

Jessica Silbey, Professor of Law, School of Law

Renda Soylemez Wiener, Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine