Boston University Office of the Provost

Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

TO: Boston University Students, Faculty, and Staff

FROM: Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

DATE: November 17, 2021

SUBJECT: Formation of University-wide Committee on Sexual Assault and Harassment

Prevention

This past spring, following consultation with undergraduate students, I <u>announced</u> that the University would be taking several concrete actions to improve the way we prevent, address, and respond to issues of sexual misconduct on our campuses. Among these steps – which include <u>enhanced mandatory trainings</u>, increased funding for on-campus prevention resources, and careful review and revision of existing campus policies – is the creation of a standing University-wide committee focused on sexual assault and harassment prevention. I write today to announce the appointment of this important committee.

The Committee on Sexual Assault and Harassment Prevention comprises a broad, diverse cross-section of faculty, staff, postdoctoral fellows, and undergraduate and graduate students and will provide critical input and guidance over the coming years as we work to ensure a safe, respectful, and inclusive campus for our community. The committee, whose membership is listed below, will report directly to the University Provost and is being chaired by Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives Laura Jenks Robinson.

I will soon meet with the members of the committee to provide them with their charge for this inaugural year. Efforts the committee is expected to undertake include such areas as strategic oversight and guidance for the mandatory sexual misconduct trainings we require of BU students and employees; considering a social norms campaign and development of an official statement on gender inclusivity and equity at BU; and the development of metrics for measuring our progress around prevention and education. The committee will be identifying ways for the University community to engage in this ongoing conversation and provide input over the coming months. It will issue a report and set of recommendations each year to the University Provost.

I look forward to providing more information as these efforts take shape and want to thank the members of the committee for committing their time, energy, and ideas to this important initiative. I also want to thank all of you, in advance, for bringing your voices to this ongoing process. Sexual misconduct prevention is a complex issue that will require an array of different strategies. Key to their success will be a common understanding of the issues facing us, honest

discussion, and a shared approach to helping ensure a safe and healthy environment for all members of the BU community.

Committee on Sexual Assault and Harassment Prevention

Chair:

Laura Jenks Robinson, Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives

Faculty Members:

Charles Chang, Associate Professor of Linguistics, College of Arts & Sciences

Fadie Coleman, Assistant Professor of Medical Sciences & Education, School of Medicine

Hyeouk Chris Hahm, Professor and Chair of Social Research, School of Social Work

Melissa Holt, Associate Professor of Counseling Psychology; Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Wheelock College of Education & Human Development

Emily Rothman, Professor and Chair of Occupational Therapy, College of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences: Sargent College; Professor of Community Health Sciences, School of Public Health

Christopher Schmitt, Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Biology, College of Arts & Sciences

Staff Members:

Nathan Brewer, Director, Sexual Assault Response & Prevention Center

Jason Campbell Foster, Senior Associate Dean of Students

Jean Estevez, Executive Director of Equal Opportunity

Karin Firoza, Director of Special Projects, BU Diversity & Inclusion

Jennifer Grodsky, Vice President for Federal Relations

Student Members:

Shaikhah Alshuaib, PhD Student, College of Arts & Sciences

Kris Berg, Undergraduate Student, College of Arts & Sciences

Danielle Richardson, PhD Student, Wheelock College of Education & Human Development

Kelsey Russell, Undergraduate Student, College of Arts & Sciences

Evan Teplensky, Undergraduate Student, College of Arts & Sciences

Jhonatan Henao Vasquez, Graduate Student, School of Medicine

Postdoc Member:
Colleen Bove, Postdoctoral Associate, College of Arts & Sciences