#### **Boston University** Office of the Provost

### Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

**TO:** Boston University Faculty

FROM: Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

**DATE:** May 10, 2021

**SUBJECT:** Announcement of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Henry M.

Goldman School of Dental Medicine at Boston University

As we begin the process of selecting the next dean of the Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine, the first step is to constitute the Search Advisory Committee. The <u>BU Faculty Handbook</u> specifies that: "the advisory committee shall consist of three faculty members elected by the faculty of the School for which a dean is to be selected, two faculty members elected by the Faculty Council from other Schools, and as many as three members designated by the provost." In addition, the provost appoints the chair of the committee.

I am pleased to announce that we have completed this initial step, and the membership of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Goldman School of Dental Medicine (GSDM) is listed at the end of this memo. I thank the GSDM faculty and the University's Faculty Council for their efforts to elect members to serve on this critical committee. I would also like to thank, in advance, the members of the Search Advisory Committee for their service and give special acknowledgement to Leslie Will, Anthony A. Gianelly Professor and Chair of Orthodontics & Dentofacial Orthopedics and Director of the Advanced Specialty Education Program in Orthodontics & Dentofacial Orthopedics, who will serve as chair.

The charge to the Search Advisory Committee and the process by which it should conduct its work is outlined in my memo of April 6. I will soon convene the Committee to provide them with further specifics of their charge, with the expectation that they will immediately begin the work of consulting with faculty and relevant stakeholders, soliciting nominations, recruiting outstanding candidates, and evaluating the qualifications and strengths of nominees and applicants. I will ask the Search Advisory Committee to forward the names of 3-5 qualified candidates to me by the end of the 2021 calendar year, for final selection of the dean by President Brown and approval by the Board of Trustees.

The selection of a new dean is among the most important decisions we make. I look forward to working with the Search Advisory Committee to identify and recruit an outstanding faculty leader to serve as the next permanent dean of the Goldman School of Dental Medicine.

Cc: Robert A. Brown
Karen Antman
Eileen O'Keefe
Provost's Cabinet

# Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Goldman School of Dental Medicine

# **Chair:**

**Leslie Will**, Anthony A. Gianelly Professor and Chair of Orthodontics & Dentofacial Orthopedics, Goldman School of Dental Medicine (elected by the Goldman School of Dental Medicine)

# **Members:**

- **Kathleen Corriveau**, Professor of Applied Human Development, Wheelock College of Education & Human Development (selected by the University Provost)
- **Sandro Galea**, Dean and Robert A. Knox Professor, School of Public Health (selected by the University Provost)
- Raul Garcia, Professor and Chair of Health Policy & Health Services Research; Director, Center for Research to Evaluate & Eliminate Dental Disparities, Goldman School of Dental Medicine (elected by the Goldman School of Dental Medicine)
- **Simone Gill**, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy, College of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences: Sargent College (selected by the University Provost)
- Michelle Henshaw, Associate Dean of Global & Population Health; Professor of Health Policy & Health Services, Goldman School of Dental Medicine (elected by the Goldman School of Dental Medicine)
- **Katya Ravid**, Barbara E. Corkey Professor in Medicine in Cardiovascular Medicine, School of Medicine (elected by the Faculty Council)
- **Shi Yang**, Associate Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, School of Medicine (elected by the Faculty Council)