Boston University Office of the Provost

Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

TO: Boston University Faculty

FROM: Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

DATE: February 10, 2017

SUBJECT: 2017 University Lecture – Call for Nominations

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2017 University Lecturer.

The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics, yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.

Information about the Lectureship, a list of past lecturers, and a downloadable 2017 nomination form can be found on the following website: http://www.bu.edu/provost/awards-publications/award-opportunities/lecture/.

Boston University is instituting a new selection process this year designed to seek the input of a broader-cross section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination and selection of candidates who reflect BU's commitment to diversity and inclusion. The membership of the 2017 University Lecture Committee charged with assisting with the selection is listed below.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community. Nomination forms for the University Lecturer should be submitted by April 1, 2017, via email to provost@bu.edu.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research efforts of Boston University's talented faculty.

2017 University Lecture Committee

Chair:

Keith Hylton, William Fairfield Warren Professor of Law, School of Law

Members:

Rama Bansil, Professor of Physics, College of Arts & Sciences

Emelia Benjamin, Professor of Medicine and Assistant Provost for Faculty Development, School of Medicine; Professor of Epidemiology, School of Public Health

Bonnie Costello, Professor of English, College of Arts & Sciences

Richard Primack, Professor of Biology, College of Arts & Sciences