Nobel Laureates

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in a number of categories by Swedish and Norwegian committees in recognition of academic, cultural and/or scientific advances. It is widely regarded as the most prestigious award available in the fields of literature, medicine, physics, chemistry, peace, and economics


*Osamu Shimomura
2008, Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Adjunct Associate Professor of Physiology & Biophysics (1982–1984)
Adjunct Professor of Physiology & Biophysics (1984–2008)
Professor Emeritus of Physiology & Biophysics (2008–2018)

Daniel Tsui
1998, Nobel Prize in Physics
Research Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering (2011–2013)

*Derek Walcott
1992, Nobel Prize in Literature
Visiting Professor of English (1982–1986)
Professor of English and Creative Writing (1986–2009)

*Elie Wiesel
1986, Nobel Peace Prize
Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities, University Professor, and Professor of Religion (1976–2011)
Professor of Philosophy (1988–2011)
Andrew W. Mellon Professor Emeritus (2011–2016)

Sheldon Glashow
1979, Nobel Prize in Physics
Distinguished Research Professor of Physics and University Professor (1983–1984)
Distinguished Physicist and Research Scholar (1984–2000)
University Professor, Arthur G.B. Metcalf Professor of Physics (2000–2018)
Professor Emeritus of English (2018-present)

*Saul Bellow
1976, Nobel Prize in Literature
Visiting University Professor and Visiting Professor of English (1989–1993)
University Professor and Professor of English (1993–2003)
Professor Emeritus of English and University Professor Emeritus (2003–2005)


*Martin Luther King, Jr.
1964, Nobel Peace Prize
School of Theology (1955)

Oscar Arias Sánchez
1987, Nobel Peace Prize
College of Arts & Sciences (1961)

* Deceased