2014 Gitner Award Winners

Andrew Duffy, Bennett Goldberg, Manher Jariwala, and Pankaj Mehta, of the Department of Physics

Gitner Award winners 2014
Pictured from left: Andrew Duffy, Manher Jariwala (with son), Pankaj Mehta, Bennett Goldberg, Gerald Gitner, and Provost Jean Morrison (photo courtesy of Department of Physics)

This year’s inaugural competition for the Gerald and Deanne Gitner Family Award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology produced a robust, exceptionally innovative field of nominees covering a broad spectrum of disciplines. All demonstrated commitment, pride and enthusiasm for integrating emerging practices and technologies into pedagogy in a way that equips students with the 21st Century skills essential to succeed as 21st Century scholars and professionals.

Our winning team ultimately came from the Department of Physics, and includes Professors Bennett Goldberg and Pankaj Mehta and Lecturers Andrew Duffy and Manher Jariwala.

The Physics team’s innovation, Transforming Physics Teaching and Learning through Technology, employed a set of interwoven, evidence-based technologies that enhance student learning in the large introductory physics courses, creating an environment in which students learn physics supported by the technology, the space, their classmates, and the instructors, graduate students, and undergraduates who make up the instructional team. The fabric of technologies draws students into the material, into peer- and near-peer discussions, into hands-on discovery, and into high-engagement classrooms. We were enormously impressed by the caliber and depth of the Physics team’s innovation and with its potential as a model for other educators.