Graduate Fellowships

Each year, the Clare Boothe Luce Program of the Henry Luce Foundation supports a limited number of Graduate Fellowships for women students in the fields of the Physical and Life Sciences, Mathematics, Engineering, and Computer Science.

The Clare Boothe Luce Fellowship is awarded for a period of two academic years to a highly qualified woman who is a doctoral candidate (in some cases, candidates for a masters or other specialized graduate or professional degree will be considered) in the sciences and engineering. The Fellowship is awarded solely on the basis of academic excellence and professional potential. It consists of an annual (12-month) “service free” stipend that matches the university’s 12-month stipend rate for 2019-20, currently valued at $35,010. Tuition, health insurance, and all mandatory fees for the academic year are also covered. An additional allowance of up to $4,000 is awarded to cover educational and professional development expenses.

The Clare Boothe Luce Graduate Fellowship may be awarded at the time of a candidate’s acceptance into a graduate program, or early (first year preference) in an enrolled candidate’s program to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding promise in one of the designated fields.

Preference is typically given to students in areas where women are most under-represented, and recipients must be U.S. citizens. Candidates are judged on the basis of academic excellence and professional potential.

Departments are invited to submit up to two nominations. Each nomination should include a statement of support from the Program Director or the Department Chair, as well as a copy of the student’s Graduate School application or the transcript for any current students.

Nomination materials for the Clare Boothe Luce Fellowship should be emailed to Courtney Mansfield at Deadline: February 18, 2022

Past Graduate Awardees

  • Sadie Allen (2021-2023)
  • Gabrielle Grifno (2021-2023)
  • Alanna Haslam (2020-2022)
  • Allison McCarthy (2020-2022)
  • Jillian Rix (2020-2022)
  • Nia Bartolucci (2019-2021)
  • Lucila Bloemendaal (2018-2020)
  • Anehita Oribabor (2018-2020)
  • Sachi Hashimoto (2017-2019)
  • Sarah Scheffler (2017-2019)
  • Kathleen Dupre (2016-2018)
  • Kerry Hensley (2016-2018)
  • Samantha Berry (2015-2017)
  • Margaret Chern (2015-2017)
  • Rachael Jayne (2015-2017)
  • Rebecca Swaszek (2014-2016)
  • Elizabeth Upton (2014-2016)
  • Molly Crane (2013-2015)
  • Jamie Kendall (2013-2015)
  • Katherine Zhao (2013-2015)
  • Kaiyao Huang (2012-2014)
  • Alyssa Pierson (2012-2014)
  • Kate Thurmer (2012-2014)
  • Allison Squires (2010-2012)
  • Rachel Stewart (2010-2012)
  • Amanda Jones (2009-2011)
  • Laura Owens (2009-2011)
  • Cassandra Browning (2008-2010)
  • Michele Savery (2008-2010)
  • Sarah A. McCalmon (2004-2006)
  • Callan Ordoyne (2004-2006)
  • Kerry Corrigan (1991-1993)
  • Johanna Phillips (1991-1993)
  • Barbara Aheam (1990-1992)
  • Donna Ellis (1990-1992)
  • Kathleen Kraemer (1990-1992)