2024 University Lecture – Call for Nominations

From Dr. Kenneth Lutchen, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer ad interim

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2024 University Lecturer.

The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research and creative pursuits. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community. As a reminder, nominees must hold the title of full professor and be an active member of the Boston University faculty.

Nominations for the University Lecturer should be submitted online by Tuesday, May 7, 2024.

Information about the lectureship and a list of past lecturers can be found on the Provost’s Office website.

The selection process for the lecture is designed to seek the input of a broad cross-section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination of candidates who reflect BU’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. The membership of the 2024 University Lecture Committee charged with assisting with the selection is listed below.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research, scholarly, and creative efforts of Boston University’s talented faculty.

2024 University Lecture Committee

Jasmine Gonzales Rose, Professor of Law; Associate Dean for Equity, Justice, and Engagement, School of Law

Theresa Ellis, Professor and Chair of Physical Therapy, Sargent College of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences

Keith Ericson, Professor and Chair of Markets, Public Policy & Law, Questrom School of Business

Wendy Goldberg, Professor of Directing, College of Fine Arts

Anthony Hollenberg, John Wade Professor and Chair of Medicine, Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine

Marc Rysman, Professor and Chair of Economics, College of Arts & Sciences

2024 University Lecture – Call for Nominations – 4.8.24