2019 University Lecture – Call for Nominations

March 18th, 2019

From Dr. Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2019 University Lecturer.
The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics, yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.
Information about the Lectureship, a list of past lecturers, and a downloadable 2019 nomination form can be found on the following website: http://www.bu.edu/provost/awards-publications/award-opportunities/lecture/.
The selection process for the Lecture is designed to seek the input of a broad cross-section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination of candidates who reflect BU’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. The membership of the 2019 University Lecture Committee charged with assisting with the selection is listed below.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community. Nomination forms for the University Lecturer should be submitted by April 10, 2019, via email to provost@bu.edu.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research efforts of Boston University’s talented faculty.

2019 University Lecture Committee

Jonathan Woodson, Larz Anderson Professor in Management; and Professor of the Practice of the Practice of Markets, Public Policy & Law, Questrom School of Business; Professor of the Practice of Health Law, Policy & Management, School of Public Health; Professor of Surgery, School of Medicine; and Director, Institute for Health System Innovation and Policy

Debbie Cheng, Professor of Biostatistics, School of Public Health

Maria O’Brien Hylton, Professor of Law, School of Law

James McCann, Professor and Chair of History, College of Arts & Sciences

S. Hamid Nawab, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

Pamela Templer, Professor of Biology, College of Arts & Sciences

2019 University Lecture – Call for Nominations – 3.18.19

Comments are closed.