The Commission

The independent commission is comprised of 21 experts from different parts of the globe who bring interdisciplinary approaches to essential medicines policies analysis and problem-solving. The magnitude of different professional expertise, experiences and perspectives creates a dynamic environment for critically re-thinking essential medicines policies. The commission is chaired by Hans Hogerzeil, University of Groningen, Netherlands, Veronika Wirtz, Center for Global Health & Development, Boston University, USA, and Andy Gray at University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa.

Click on the names of the commissioners below for their bios.

A series of structured meetings will be held with all the commissioners between 2014-2015 to brainstorm new ideas and develop the final report. For more information on past meetings, visit our Meetings page.


The Commissioners
Bigdeli, Maryam
Alliance for Health Policy and Systems
World Health Organization, Switzerland
De Joncheere, Kees
Director, Essential Medicines
World Health Organization, Switzerland
Ewen, Marg
Health Action International, Netherlands
Gray, Andrew
School of Health Sciences
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Gyansa-Luttherodt, Martha
Office of The Director of PharmaceuticalServices &
Chief Pharmacist
Ministry of Health, Ghana
Hogerzeil, Hans
University Groningen,   Netherlands
Jing, Sun
National Institute of Hospital Administration
Ministry of Health, China
Luiza, Vera
Fio Cruz, Brazil
Mbindyo, Regina
WHO Essential Medicines Program, Kenya
Moller, Helene
UNICEF, Denmark
Pécoul, Bernard
DNDi, Switzerland
Rägo, Lembit
World Health Organization, Switzerland
Rashidian, Arash
School of Public Health
Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Iran
Reich, Michael
Harvard School of Public Health
Harvard University, USA
Ross-Degnan, Dennis
Harvard Medical School
Harvard University, USA
Stephens, Peter
IMS Health, United Kingdom
Teerawattananon, Yot
Ministry of Health (HITAP), Thailand
‘t Hoen, Ellen
Consultant, Netherlands/France
Wagner, Anita
Harvard Medical School
Harvard University, USA
Wirtz, Veronika
School of Public Health
Boston University, USA
Yadav, Prashant
William Davidson Institute
University of Michigan, USA


Support of the Commission

The work of the Commission is supported by Hedieh Mehrtash, who assists with communications and outreach, Anya Guyer, who assisted with preparing the report.