Executive Order News

President Biden Revokes President Trump’s Travel Bans

January 20th, 2021

President Biden issued a Presidential Order on January 20, 2021 that revoked  several controversial travel bans effective immediately for certain nonimmigrants from Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya, Yemen, North Korea, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania and government representatives from Venezuela that were established during the Trump administration.

Presidential Proclamation Expanded to Ban Employment Visas

January 1st, 2021

On March 31, 2021, Presidential Proclamation 10052 expired. The initial Presidential Proclamation entitled Suspending Entry of Immigrants Who Present Risk to the U.S. Labor Market During the Economic Recovery Following the COVID-19 Outbreak that banned immigrant visa processing (entry to the US for those who plan to stay permanently) beginning on... More

Presidential Proclamation Bans Entry to the US for Small Number of Graduate Students and Researchers from China

May 29th, 2020

The Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Nonimmigrants of Certain Students and Researchers from the People’s Republic of China suspends entry to the US (effective 12pm June 1, 2020) of certain Chinese nationals seeking to enter the US with an F or J nonimmigrant visa to study or conduct... More

Expansion to Travel Ban Announced

January 31st, 2020

President Trump announces expansion to Presidential Proclamation 9645 restricting travel to the U.S. Travel to the U.S. as an immigrant for nationals of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania will be suspended effective 12:01am February 21, 2020. These new restrictions only apply to immigrant visas and do not restrict nonimmigrant visa... More

US Supreme Court Upholds Travel Ban

June 26th, 2018

The US Supreme Court upheld President Trump’s September 24, 2017 Proclamation (Travel Ban 3.0), which currently restricts nationals from seven countries (Libya, Iran, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and certain government officials from Venezuela) from entering the US in certain nonimmigrant visa classifications. Please visit our Executive Order webpage for more... More

U.S. Supreme Court hears oral arguments on travel ban

April 25th, 2018

The U.S. Supreme Court heard oral arguments on April 25, 2018 regarding the legality of travel restriction splaced on individuals from eight countries. A final decision is expected to be announced in June.

Chad removed from travel ban

April 13th, 2018

President Trump removed Chad from the list of countries subject to Travel Ban 3.0, after a March 20, 2018 report from the Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Secretary of the Department of State, concluded "that Chad has made marked improvements in its identity-management and information-sharing practices."

U.S. Supreme Court Permits Travel Restrictions to Begin Effective Immediately

December 4th, 2017

U.S. Supreme Court announced that they will allow the latest version of travel restrictions targeting nationals from certain countries to go into effect immediately while legal challenges continue in the lower courts. The travel restrictions permit nationals from Chad, Libya, Iran, Syria, North Korea, Somalia, Yemen and certain government officials... More

Travel Restrictions for 6 of the 8 Countries Blocked by Court Order

October 18th, 2017

A Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) issued by the U.S. District Court for the District of Hawaii on October 16th blocks enforcement of the Proclamation 9645 restrictions on the following countries: Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Chad and Somalia. The Proclamation 9645 bars on North Korea and Venezuela were not included in... More

Country Specific Travel Restrictions Replaces Executive Order Travel Ban

September 25th, 2017

The travel ban initially imposed by Executive Order will be replaced with new travel restrictions that are category and country specific. President Trump issued a Proclamation pursuant to Section 2(e) of Executive Order 13780, designating eight countries (Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen) for partial or full restrictions on entry... More