Travel Restrictions for 6 of the 8 Countries Blocked by Court Order

in Executive Order
October 18th, 2017

A Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) issued by the U.S. District Court for the District of Hawaii on October 16th blocks enforcement of the Proclamation 9645 restrictions on the following countries: Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Chad and Somalia. The Proclamation 9645 bars on North Korea and Venezuela were not included in the TRO so they will go into effect on October 17th. The restrictions are also facing court challenges from a number of other states. It is unclear how the Supreme Court will respond to the new court challenges as it had delayed consideration of the case when the new restrictions were announced and had asked all parties to resubmit briefs to the court accounting for the changes made between the second and third versions of the order. Please contact ISSO staff with any questions regarding the travel restrictions or travel plans.