

Aga Khan Award for Architecture

AGA KHAN AWARD FOR ARCHITECTURE ANNOUNCES 2022 MASTER JURY

Independent Master Jury Will Select Recipients of US\$ 1 Million Prize

Geneva, Switzerland, 23 September 2021 – The members of the Master Jury for the 2020-2022 Cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today. The Jury, which independently selects the recipients of the US\$ 1 million Award, will convene in January 2022 to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects.

The nine members of the Master Jury for the fifteenth Award cycle are:



Ms. Nada Al Hassan Conservation Architect, specialised in international cultural and sustainable development policies, Paris



Professor Amale Andraos Dean of Columbia GSAPP and Principal of WORKac, New York



Professor Kazi Khaleed Ashraf Director-General of the Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements, Dhaka



Mr. Kader Attia

Artist, Berlin and Paris



Professor Sibel Bozdogan Visiting Professor of Modern Architecture and Urbanism, Boston University



Ms. Lina Ghotmeh Founder and Principal of Lina Ghotmeh – Architecture, Paris



Mr. Francis Kéré
Professor of Architectural Design
and Participation at the
Technical University of Munich



Ms. Anne Lacaton
Founder and Principal of Lacaton
& Vassal Architects,
Paris-Montreuil



Professor Nader Tehrani
Dean of The Cooper Union's Irwin
S. Chanin School of Architecture,
New York and Founding Principal of
NADAAA, Boston and New York

Once the Master Jury selects a shortlist, the shortlisted projects are then subjected to rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts, most of them architects, conservation specialists, planners or structural engineers. The Jury meets for a second time in summer 2022 to examine the on-site reviews and select the final recipients of the Award.

The selection process emphasises architecture that not only provides for people's physical, social and economic needs, but that also stimulates and responds to their cultural aspirations. Particular attention is given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways and to projects likely to inspire similar efforts elsewhere.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan. The other members of the Steering Committee are Sheikha Mai Bint Mohammed Al Khalifa, President, Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities, Manama; Emre Arolat, Founder, EAA - Emre Arolat Architecture, Istanbul; Meisa Batayneh, Principal Architect, Founder, maisam architects and engineers, Amman; Sir David Chipperfield, Principal, David Chipperfield Architects, London; Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Director, Institute of African Studies, Columbia University, New York; Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge; Marina Tabassum, Principal, Marina Tabassum Architects, Dhaka; Sarah M. Whiting, Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge. Farrokh Derakhshani is the Director of the Award.

For more information, please contact:

Sam Pickens Aga Khan Award for Architecture 1-3 avenue de la Paix, 1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Telephone: +41 (22) 909.72.00 Facsimile: +41 (22) 909.72.91 E-mail: info@akdn.org

Website: www.akdn.org/architecture

Follow us on social media:











NOTES

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is part of the Geneva-based Aga Khan Trust for Culture (AKTC), which has a wide range of activities aimed at the preservation and promotion of the material and cultural heritage of Muslim societies. Its programmes include the Aga Khan Historic Cities Programme (HCP), which works to revitalise historic cities in the Muslim world, both culturally and socio-economically. Over the last decade, it has been engaged in the rehabilitation of historic areas in Cairo, Kabul, Herat, Aleppo, Delhi, Zanzibar, Mostar, northern Pakistan, Timbuktu and Mopti.

The programmes of AKTC are also the Aga Khan Music Awards, an interregional music and arts education programme with worldwide performance, outreach, mentoring, and artistic production activities; the Education Programme, which aims to promote broader and deeper awareness among young people of the philosophy and values that underpin the efforts of the Trust; and the Aga Khan Museum in Toronto, which provides visitors with a window into the artistic, intellectual, and scientific contributions of Muslim civilizations to world heritage.

The Trust also supports the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture (AKPIA) at Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) as well as www.ArchNet.org, a major online resource on Islamic architecture.

More information on the Award, the Trust and the other activities of the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) can be found on our website: www.akdn.org.