And the winner is…

Each year our program highlights a selects student-athletes who have gone above and beyond in a specific aspect of their club responsibilities. We honor these winners at our Annual Club Sports Presidents’ Dinner, and they then have their names etched onto a progressive plaque located on the second floor of the Fitness & Recreation Center. We task our students with leaving their club better than they found it, and these represent some of our best and brightest. Below are the different type of awards and list of past recipients.

  • Leadership (on and/or off field)
  • Team Advancement (contributing to the long-term betterment of your club)
  • Competitive Excellence (for achievements on the field of play)
  • Team of the Year (team who best exemplifies the BU Club Sports program)
Year Leadership Advancement Competitive Excellence Competitive Excellence Team of the Year
2013-14 Leah Daniels
(Synchro Swim)
Hayat Khan
David Villari 
Kelly Miller
Roller Hockey
2014-15 Alex Nulty
(Synchro Skate)
Meghan Kaupp
Curtis Hon
(M. Water Polo)
Carly Corbacho 
W. Water Polo
2015-16 Matt Fineberg/Dillon Schuyler (M. Ice Hockey) Abigael Yotts
(W. Rugby)
Cesar Hernandez
(M. Volleyball)
Caroline Herlihy
(Figure Skating)
M. Volleyball
2016-17 Jonathan Lerch
Yihao Hu
Ravi Parent
Katie Vella
Figure Skating
2017-18 Isabela Osorio Moran
(W. Volleyball)
Matt Stringer
(M. Rugby)
Michael Janson
Alex Smyrnois
2018-19 Kelsey Hirsch
(W. Volleyball)
Maddie Thomas
(W. Water Polo)
Tegveer Ghura
Nikita Limaye
Synchro Skating
2019-20 Hanna Gootee
(W. Ice Hockey)
Phillip Harrington
Mats Najberg
(M. Rugby)
Maia Agerup
M. Rugby
2021-22 Sydney Bechtel
(W. Ice Hockey)
Aiden Cliff
(Roller Hockey)
Yiqi Zou
(Table Tennis)
Paige Dong
(Figure Skating)
Figure Skating
2022-23 Emilee Redshaw
Ryan Christensen
Raymon Chen 
(M. Volleyball)
Elizabeth Nevins
W. Water Polo

Barbara Pinch Distinguished Service Award

In March of 2019, our program honored former Figure Skating Coach Barbara Pinch by naming our Distinguished Service Award in her honor. Barbara worked at the University for over 35 years. In her time at Boston University, she started the skating program, which included recreational PDP classes, the Learn to Skate Program, and the competitive skating clubs – both Figure and Synchronized Skating. She is also credited as the founder of the Intercollegiate Team Competition, which now has blossomed into over 140 colleges across the country. Current Figure Skating Coach Andrea Mohns-Brillaud said this of her: “Barb’s most important contribution to the University was her smile and welcoming personality. That brought her students and athletes together in a community that supported them and helped them to navigate college successfully.” Each year we honor a coach who provides significant contributions to the Club Sport program and service to the students at BU. Below are the past recipients of the Barbara Pinch Distinguished Service Award.

Year Coach Sport
2019 Phyllis Cervelli Equestrian
2021 Peter Kreitchet Kung Fu
2022 Gerard LaFond Water Polo (M)
2023 Andrea Monhns-Brillaud Figure Skating